## 2015-K157

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Indian River High School Football Team and Coach Cory D. Marsell upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class A Championship

WHEREAS, High school student athletes exemplify the notion of teamwork, sportsmanship, and school spirit; and
WHEREAS, High school athletic programs are led by dedicated coaches who additionally act as teachers and mentors to student athletes; and
WHEREAS, Every year, high school athletic teams compete to be the best in their respective leagues, Sections, and in the State; and
WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and
WHEREAS, The Indian River High School Football Team are the 2014 New York State Class A Champions; the Warriors defeated the Queensbury Spartans with an exciting come from behind victory by a score of 63-38; this

win is the team's first New York State Title Championship in the history of the school; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Cory D. Marsell, a skilled and inspirational mentor, and their coaching staff, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record, 13-0, is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans,

friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Indian River High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Cory D. Marsell and his coaching staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Cory D. Marsell along with his coaching staff, and all of the outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Indian River High School Football Team; its members: Rickey Burgos, Anthony Reclosado, Tyler Sloley, Tyler Iketau, Densel Barnes, Lawrence Borce, Elijah Franklin, Jared Chant, Serone Gates, Mitchell Bursey, Darrien Holland, Khorey Mitchell, Gary Ruckman, Damian Lynch, Juwan Williams, Trevor McDonald, Romel Washington, Chase Farrell, Dustin Sharrit, Cole Vonsik, Christopher Bass, Daquan Brown, Jeremy Snyder, Joshua Lee, Jefferson Hando, Jeremy Snyder, Connor Brown, Juan Garcia, Zachery Stone, Jesse Buzzell, Jayeson Laga, Jonah Raydo, Dylan Ashwood, Tyler Wright, Elvis Nunez, Tellas Wilson, Keon Oneil, Nena Tolenna, Reiley Fleming, Ryan Loar, Allen Garcia, Avery Reed, Aiden Kearns, Noah Davidson, Chase Ingram, Brandon Smith, Anthony DeMarco, Connor Hajdasz, Taylor Miller, and Alex Behling, Coach Cory D. Marsell,

and his coaching staff on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Indian River High School Football Team, Coach Cory D. Marsell, and his coaching staff.