2015-J740

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending Adelphi University upon the occasion of its 15th Annual President's Gala, and paying tribute to this year's honorees on Saturday, March 21, 2015

WHEREAS, It is incumbent upon the people of the State of New York to recognize and acknowledge those within our midst who have made significant contributions to the quality of life therein; and WHEREAS, From time to time this Legislative Body takes note of certain extraordinary individuals it wishes to recognize for their valued contributions to the success and progress of society and publicly acknowledge their endeavors which have enhanced the basic humanity among us all; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is proud to commend Adelphi University upon the occasion of its 15th Annual President's Gala, and to pay tribute to this year's honorees at the Garden City Hotel on Saturday, March 21, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Alumna Dr. Esther Siegal, Class of 1969 and 1972, is the recipient of the Outstanding Alumna Award; alumnus, Secretary and Board of Trustees member Frank Angello, Class of 1977, and Phyllis Angello, will receive the Outstanding Service to Adelphi University Award, and Carmine J. Pizzo is the recipient of the Outstanding Long Island Executive Award; and

WHEREAS, Individuals and organizations devoted to improving the quality of life for others, enabling them to build lives of dignity and selfworth are deserving of the highest praise and recognition for their support of the University and accomplishments of the distinguished faculty and talented students; and

WHEREAS, With great admiration, this Legislative Body is proud to pay

tribute to this eminent institution which stands at the threshold of the future with its legacy of outstanding achievements and its impressive body of distinguished alumni; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend Adelphi University upon the occasion of its 15th Annual President's Gala, and to acknowledge this year's honorees on Saturday, March 21, 2015; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-

smitted to the aforementioned honorees.