2015-J866

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Director Darren Aronofsky upon the occasion of his designation as recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Alumni

Award by the Mark Twain Intermediate School for the Gifted and Talented

Alumni Hall of Fame

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those individuals of artistic significance whose creative talents have contributed to the cultural enrichment of our communities and our nation; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Director Darren Aronofsky upon the occasion of his designation as recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award by the Mark Twain Intermediate School for the Gifted and Talented Alumni Hall of Fame, to be celebrated at its 2nd Annual Gala at Gargiulo's Restaurant, Coney Island, New York, on Thursday, March 26, 2015; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious accolade is given to alumni of both the Mark
Twain Intermediate School and the Junior High School for the Gifted and
Talented, individuals who have achieved distinction in their respective
fields in the hope their examples will inspire new generations of
students to appreciate a rich educational experience focused on academic
rigor, and the visual performing arts; and

WHEREAS, Academy Award nominated Director Darren Aronofsky was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York; prior to graduating from both Harvard University and the American Film Institute, he was a graduate of both the Mark Twain Intermediate School and the Junior High School for the Gifted and Talented; and

WHEREAS, Darren Aronofsky's first feature "Pi", won the Director's Award at Sundance Film Festival in 1998; two years later, he directed

"Requiem For a Dream", which headlined Jared Leto, Ellen Burstyn, and Jennifer Connelly; and

WHEREAS, In 2006, Darren Aronofsky directed "The Fountain", which starred Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz; his next major production was "The Wrestler", which received the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival; the stars of the movie, Mickey Rourke and Marisa Tomei, received numerous accolades for their stellar performances, and Bruce Springsteen won acclaim for the best original song, "The Wrestler"; and WHEREAS, Darren Aronofsky directed "Black Swan" in 2011, which earned him a nomination for Best Director, and Natalie Portman, the Academy Award for Best Actress; and

WHEREAS, Most recently, Darren Aronofsky directed "Noah" in 2014, which starred Russell Crowe, Jennifer Connelly, Emma Watson, and Anthony Hopkins; the movie was hailed as one of the most dazzling and unforget-table Biblical epics ever put on film; and

WHEREAS, In light of the tremendous success and contributions of this accomplished director, it is small wonder that Mark Twain Intermediate School for the Gifted and Talented has selected Darren Aronofsky as the second inductee into its Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame; and WHEREAS, Celebrated Director Darren Aronofsky has clearly distinguished himself in his career, and New York State and the entire nation have benefited greatly from his talents; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Director Darren Aronofsky upon the occasion of his designation as recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award by the Mark Twain Intermediate School for the Gifted and Talented Alumni Hall of Fame; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Darren Aronofsky.