## 2015-K263

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the Division II New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those talented young individuals within our midst, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought great pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic contests enhance the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II Championship; and

WHEREAS, On March 15, 2015, at the Utica Memorial Auditorium, the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team battled back from a deficit, scoring three goals in just a 5-minute time span, to subsequently beat Williamsville East High School with a final score of 5-2 in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team made school history by winning the team's first State title in 26 years; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case for the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team: Bennett Morse, Eric Huba, Sam Clymer, Dimitris Christou, Trey Wirth, Briggs Carter, Jacob Patalino, Matt Benson, Patrick Major, Cullen McGlynn, Reggie Buell, Owen Kuhns, Marc Welch, Raymond Falso, Matt Leveroni, Karl Adams, Devin Callahan, Brett Singler, James Motyl, Adam Lupo, Nick Rottger, Reece Eddy, Jarrett McDonald, Luke Lynn, Ben Russell, and Kyle Ochsner; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire winter sports season, the Skaneateles
Boys Varsity Hockey Team demonstrated strong play, impressive effort and
excellent sportsmanship to finish out a successful season and bring
great pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team is in great part due to the efforts of Head Coach Mitch Major and Assistant Coach Jeff Bobbett, who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, These coaches did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the players of the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to hereby recognize and congratulate the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II championship game; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each member of the Skaneateles Boys Varsity Hockey Team, and Head Coach Mitch Major.