2015-J1240

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the Carmel High School Varsity Wrestling
Team

WHEREAS, The State of New York takes great pride in acknowledging the outstanding achievements of its esteemed school athletic teams; and WHEREAS, The Carmel High School Varsity Wrestling Team earned the League Championship Title with a victory over Mahopac High School on January 29, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Carmel won the first match, and, at one point, led the meet 6-0; and

WHEREAS, After falling behind 23-6, Carmel rebounded to win the next six matches, and won the League Championship Title by a score of 38-29; and

WHEREAS, The team is led by Head Coach Seth Harrison and Assistant

Coach Mike Camastro; Coach Harrison has been recognized as Conference 1,

League A Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Team member Kevin Knox is Section 1 Champion, All-League wrestler, and All-Section wrestler; and

WHEREAS, Team members Vlad Panchishak, Tristan Welton, Ahken Chu, Greg Purdy, and John French are also All-League; Alex Leone is All-League and All-Section; and

WHEREAS, The team is rounded out by Jon Aldave, Jose Arevalo, Travis Boula, Jake Barrantes, Ricardo Cordova, Joe Ciallela, Chris Collins, Dom Caporale, Ilir Dervishav, Nick Ferrara, Steve Irwin, Liam Landivar, Tyler McGrath, Eduardo Monroy, Luis Miro, Matt Purdy, Grant Richardson, Jose Rodriguez, Anthony Schneider, Randy Soumakis and Luke Wright; and WHEREAS, These outstanding wrestlers have exhibited extraordinary sportsmanship and athletic ability, and are an inspiration to their fellow student athletes; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Carmel High School Varsity Wrestling Team upon earning the League Championship Title; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Carmel High School Varsity Wrestling Team and Head Coach Seth Harrison.