2015-K380

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION paying tribute to the five Pulitzer Prize Winners from the State of New York in recognition of their exemplary journalistic accomplishments

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those illustrious journalistic entities which have diligently and consistently, year after year, recorded the history of their communities and brought local news and news of the larger world to their readers; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to pay tribute to the five Pulitzer Prize Winners from the State of New York in recognition of their exemplary journalistic accomplishments; and WHEREAS, This auspicious award is bestowed upon those who have made stellar achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States; established in 1917, by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, it is administered by Columbia University in New York City, and prizes are awarded yearly in 21 categories; and WHEREAS, The recipients of a 2015 Pulitzer Prize from New York State include Adam Zyglis, THE NEW YORK TIMES Staff, Daniel Berehulak, Eric Lipton and THE WALL STREET JOURNAL Staff; and WHEREAS, Currently employed by THE BUFFALO NEWS, Adam Zyglis is the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning; he is known for using strong images to connect with readers while conveying layers of meaning in a few words; and

WHEREAS, An International Reporting Pulitzer Prize was awarded to THE NEW YORK TIMES Staff for courageous front-line reporting and vivid human stories on the Ebola outbreak in Africa; they engaged the public with

the scope and details of the outbreak while holding authorities accountable; and

WHEREAS, Freelance Photographer for THE NEW YORK TIMES, Daniel Berehulak is the recipient of the Feature Photography Pulitzer Prize for his gripping, courageous photographs of the Ebola epidemic in West Africa; and

WHEREAS, An employee of THE NEW YORK TIMES, Eric Lipton is the recipient of the Investigative Reporting Pulitzer Prize for reporting on the influence of lobbyists in today's government; and

WHEREAS, An Investigative Reporting Pulitzer Prize was given to THE WALL STREET JOURNAL Staff for "Medicare Unmasked," a pioneering project which gave Americans unprecedented access to previously confidential data on the motivations and practices of their health care providers; and

WHEREAS, Our journalists provide a tremendous service to citizens across the State of New York by keeping them informed about current events; the democracy of our State and Nation is strengthened by a responsible citizenry which is actively engaged in reading and kept abreast of news affecting their lives; and

WHEREAS, As these five remarkable members of the press move into the future, they carry with them the legacy of a distinguished journalistic history and an outstanding record of growth and achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to pay tribute to the five Pulitzer Prize Winners from the State of New York in recognition of their exemplary journalistic accomplishments; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the five Pulitzer Prize Winners.