## 2015-K497

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 100th Anniversary of Rose Fire Company, Inc. on May 15, 2015

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Rose Fire Company, Inc., and to honor its past and present firefighting members for 100 years of fire protection to the citizens of Rose, New York and its surrounding communities; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, it is the sense of this Legislative Body to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of Rose Fire Company, Inc. to be celebrated at its Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, May 16, 2015, at Abigails Restaurant, Seneca Falls, New York; and WHEREAS, In addition, the members of the Rose Fire Company and the entire community of Rose, will come together to celebrate this auspicious occasion with a party to be held from June 11-14, 2015; numerous events are scheduled for the entire family, including a concert, a memorial service, an ice cream social, an Erie Canal Cloggers performance, food, craft show, kids games, both a kiddies and firemen's parade, entertainment by Savannah Cellar Savers, a fireworks display, a car show, chicken barbecue, flea market, and a lawn mower raffle; and WHEREAS, Fire departments are an integral part of community protection services in every locality of our State; during the past 100 years, the courageous and devoted firefighters of the Rose Fire Company, have valiantly responded to all types of fire emergencies and have won the praise and respect of the community which they serve; and WHEREAS, On December 10, 1913, a petition requesting the formation of a fire district at Rose, New York, in the Town of Rose, was presented to the Wayne County Board of Supervisors; and WHEREAS, On August 23, 1915, a meeting was held to enlist volunteers;

B.H. Jeffers was selected as Temporary Chairman and Russell Weeks was chosen to serve as Temporary President; in addition, the fire company was named the Rose Chemical Company No. 1; and WHEREAS, Five days later, on August 28, 1915, the first official meeting of the Rose Chemical Company No. 1 was held; approximately a month later, the second meeting was held at the Town Hall and the Constitution and by-laws were accepted, as well as a motion was carried that all associate members would become active members; and WHEREAS, Officer elections were held and K.L. Osborn was unanimously elected President of the Rose Chemical Company No. 1, H. Ross Ellinwood was selected as Vice President, Russell Weeks became the Financial Secretary and Albert Fox was chosen as Treasurer; and WHEREAS, During its humble beginning, the Rose Chemical Company No. 1 consisted of 36 members and two hand drawn chemical carts; and WHEREAS, The original members of the Rose Chemical Company No. 1 were Earl Gilfilian, Wm. Austin, L.C. Terbush, Russell Weeks, B.H. Jeffers, Chas. Jones, Chas. Wilson, Albert Fox, Ray A. Osgood, John Harper, K.L. Osborn, Henry Knapp, H.R. Ellinwood, Ben Brewster, Fred Case, H.L. Cahoon, John Hart, Dell Wilkinson, Nelson Brewster, Chas. Boyce, Arthur Turner, Edwin Weeks, Sylvester Van Antwerp, Dell Van Antwerp, Fred O'Brien, Harold Shufelt, Frank Henry, Roe Soule, H.P. Osgood, L.G. Harper, Ed Weeks, R.F. King, F. Bovee, W.A. Marsh, E. Skiley and H. Frank; and WHEREAS, In the early 1940's, the Rose Chemical Company No. 1 became

WHEREAS, In the early 1940's, the Rose Chemical Company No. 1 became known as the Rose Fire Department and was officially incorporated on November 21, 1988; and

WHEREAS, In 1961, the Rose Fire Department began providing Emergency Medical Services (EMS) to the residents of Rose, and surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, With a membership of dedicated firefighters, the record of the Rose Fire Company in public service and fire protection is one to be envied; for 24 hours a day, for 365 days a year, for 100 years, whenever the alarm sounded, these noble volunteers left their homes and went to the aid of their neighbors; and

WHEREAS, Today, under the luminous leadership of President Duane E. Shipley, Vice President Scott Converse, Secretary Alan Barney, and Treasurer Donald MacDougall, the brave firefighters of the Rose Fire Company are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the skill and devoted service demonstrated by individual firefighters, the Rose Fire Company reflects the history and development of firefighting over the past 100 years; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to proudly commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Rose Fire Company, Inc.; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Duane E. Shipley, President, Rose Fire Company, Inc.