2015-J2274

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Yorktown Lacrosse upon the occasion of its 50th Anniversary

WHEREAS, The State of New York takes great pride in acknowledging significant milestones in the distinguished histories of its esteemed athletic organizations; and

WHEREAS, Yorktown Lacrosse will celebrate its 50th Anniversary during a banquet to be held at Peter Pratt's Inn on June 13, 2015; a film presentation will be held earlier that day at Yorktown High School; and WHEREAS, Coaches James Turnbull and Gerry Walsh will also be honored for their long-time dedicated service to Yorktown Lacrosse; and WHEREAS, The team was formed in 1965, when Yorktown High School Principal Carl Schlick granted permission for social studies teacher James Turnbull to start a club team of 15; and

WHEREAS, During its first season, Charlie Murphy was told about the team by Yorktown High School student Frank LaRusso; "Murph," as he came to be known, purchased cleats for the entire team and donated \$500 to the program, becoming a beloved figure to the team for many years; and WHEREAS, Yorktown soon became the first public high school in what is now known as Section 1 to have lacrosse as a sanctioned sport; and WHEREAS, Coach Turnbull led the team from 1966 until 1976, with 155 wins, 26 losses, and 4 ties; his teams won the Hudson Valley Championship from 1967 until 1971, and the Section Titles from 1972 until 1974; and

WHEREAS, The Junior Varsity program was established in 1967 by Coach Turnbull and Alan Henry; the following year, the Yorktown Athletic Club started a program for boys in 5th through 8th grade; and WHEREAS, The team was led by Coach Gerry Walsh from 1977 until 1984; his team won the section in 1977 and would only lose it once during

Coach Walsh's tenure; and

WHEREAS, Coach Turnbull returned in 1984 to coach the team until 1993; he amassed 199 wins and 26 losses with five State titles and ten consecutive Section 1 titles; and

WHEREAS, The team was led by Coach George Searing from 1994 until 1997; his team had a record of 67 wins and 13 losses, with four Section 1 titles; and

WHEREAS, Coach John Nichol led the team from 1998 until 2002, with 79 wins, 24 losses, and five more Section 1 titles; and

WHEREAS, The team is currently led by Coach Dave Marr, who coached the team to a State title in his first season and another one in 2014; he won his 200th game this year and has coached the team to 12 Section 1 titles; and

WHEREAS, Yorktown Lacrosse hosts the Murphy Cup against cross-town rival Lakeland, and the Turnbull-Whitten Bowl against Wilton; and WHEREAS, Yorktown Lacrosse has become the most represented high school in the history of Division 1 NCAA Final Four appearances; and WHEREAS, Yorktown Lacrosse has an overall record of 822-181-4, with 49 winning seasons, 37 Section titles, and 7 State titles; and WHEREAS, Yorktown Lacrosse has inspired other athletic teams through its impressive success, athletic ability, teamwork, and sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Yorktown Lacrosse upon its 50th Anniversary; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Yorktown Lacrosse.