2015-J2774

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating Samuel Goldman, Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore upon the occasion of being named National Merit Scholarship Winners

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to act, in accord with its long-standing traditions, to honor the achievements of its young citizens and leaders of tomorrow, whose character and accomplishments exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and nation; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate Samuel Goldman, Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore upon the occasion of being named National Merit Scholarship Winners; and

WHEREAS, The National Merit Scholarship Program, one of the most prestigious academic recognition programs in the Nation, was established in 1955, and recognizes through rigorous competitive examinations, those students across the country who demonstrate exceptional academic ability; and

WHEREAS, Samuel Goldman, Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore, students at Schreiber High School in Port Washington, New York, were three of 2,500 Merit Scholar designees chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program; and

WHEREAS, These superb students of singular distinction and superlative abilities, have established high standards of academic excellence and purposefulness of life rarely achieved in youthful years; and WHEREAS, Samuel Goldman and Crystal Ren are the recipients of National Merit Scholarships, and Elizabeth Muratore is a recipient of the National Merit New York Life Family Scholarship; and WHEREAS, Outstanding role models for their classmates, Samuel Goldman,

Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore have brought honor to their families, school, and community; these students truly embody diligence, motivation and tenacity; admirable qualities that will serve them well now and into the future; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their teachers, coaches and parents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate Samuel Goldman, Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore upon the occasion of being named National Merit Scholarship Winners, and to wish them continued success in all of their future endeavors; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Samuel Goldman, Crystal Ren and Elizabeth Muratore.