2015-J2980

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Deposit Varsity Softball Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Athletic Association Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Deposit Varsity Softball Team are the New York State
Athletic Association Class D Champions; and

WHEREAS, This state-ranked number one softball team, seeking its first state title in 25 years, took an early lead on Hamilton Central and defeated the Emerald Knights 10-3 on Saturday, June 13, 2015, in South Glens Falls, New York; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coaches Ed Swartwout, Dan Briggs, Jr. and Gary Pratt, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 23-1 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Deposit Varsity Softball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none;

and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Ed Swartwout, Dan Briggs, Jr. and Gary Pratt have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coaches Ed Swartwout, Dan Briggs, Jr. and Gary Pratt and the Deposit Varsity Softball Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Deposit Varsity Softball Team; its members: Alea Tiffany, Kassi Cook, Bryn Martin, Kylie Papogolish, Megan Faulkner, Kyra Martin, Aubrin Smith, Erin Ballard, Katie Tiffany, Remington Doty, Makenzie Stiles, and MiKayla Martin; and Coaches Ed Swartwout, Dan Briggs, Jr. and Gary Pratt on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Deposit Varsity Softball Team and to Coaches Ed Swartwout, Dan Briggs, Jr. and Gary Pratt.