

new york state senator Malcolm Smith

## Senate Democratic Leader Malcolm A. Smith Announces Transition Team

MALCOLM A. SMITH November 17, 2008

(New York, NY) - Following the historic victory in which Democrats regained control of the New York State Senate for the first time in over 40 years, Senate Democratic Leader Malcolm A. Smith today announced his Transition Team. Angelo Aponte and Fran Weissberg will serve as Co-Chairs of the Transition Team. James Eagan will serve as Vice Chair and Upstate Advisor; and Hank Sheinkopf will serve as Director of Communications.

"I'm proud to have such an esteemed group of experts in their respective fields who are ready to lead New York in a new direction," Senator Smith said. "Together, we will plot our course to rebuild New York's economy by creating and protecting jobs, reduce wasteful spending while preserving money for vital services and grow the economy for middle income families."

Angelo Aponte, of Staten Island, is the former Commissioner of the New York State Department of Housing. Fran Weissberg, of Rochester, is the Executive Director of the Finger Lakes Health Systems Agency. Aponte and Weissberg will ensure a seamless government transition. James Eagan, of Buffalo, is the Executive Vice President of Midwood Financial Services -- the largest independent distributor of fixed annuities sold through financial institutions in the United States. Hank Sheinkopf, of Manhattan, is a strategic communications consultant who has worked in 10 foreign nations and 46 American states.

Smith also appointed Donald Carey, of Yonkers, and Martin Scheinman of Long Island as Co-Chairs for the Subcommittee on Legislation and Policy. Stan Grayson, of Manhattan, has been appointed Chair of the Subcommittee on Recruitment.

Other Transition Team members include:

Margaret Guarino, of Manhattan, is head of the Housing Finance Group for Banc of America Securities; Dr. Hugo Morales, of Yonkers, a trustee of the City University of New York; and Irene Stein, of Ithaca, a retired Director of the Thompkins County office for the Aging.

The formation of the Transition Team is ongoing and other members will be added.