

Senator Jeff Klein And Bronx Leaders Denounce Anti-semitic Graffiti Surge

JEFFREY D. KLEIN April 14, 2005

As leaders of the Morris Park, Pelham Parkway and Bronx communities, we are joining together to speak in one voice as we denounce the recent rash of anti-Semitic graffiti that has desecrated three of our local synagogues this past week. Anti-Semitism and other forms of intolerance have no place in this neighborhood. We stand together today, as elected officials, clergy members of various faiths, and community leaders, as a living and breathing example of our community. We are a community that works together. We are a neighborhood where people of all races, religions, and ethnicities have joined together on community boards, in PTAs at our children's schools, on block associations, in little leagues, and in countless other ways, all of them aimed at making this community, our home, a welcome place to live. We believe in mututal respect and in the dignity of every person. We love our neighborhood, and we will not allow hate crimes or base appeals to intolerance to divide us.

We thank the NYPD's 49th Precinct for their quick action, and we pledge to hold accountable those who have committed these acts of hatred and to continue to work together to promote the true values of our community: respect and acceptance of all.

Anti Defamation League of New York

Reverend Donald M. Dwyer, Roman Catholic Vicar of The East Bronx

David Edelstein, Jewish Community Council of

Pelham Parkway

Gabriel Grumer, President Temple Judea

Monsignor Leslie J. Ivers, St. Frances de Chantel

Rev. John M. Knapp, Our Lady of Solace

Rabbi Meyer Leifer,

Pelham Parkway

Jewish Center

Bishop Angelo Rosario, CEO, Borough President's Bronx Clergy Task Force

Pastor Paul R. Sauer, Our Savior Lutheran Church

Reverend Al Sharpton, National Action Network

Reverend Edmund Whalen, St. Benedicts Church

Father Joseph Kelly, St. Anthony's Church and School

Rabbi Shohama Wiener, Temple Beth-El of City Island

US Senator Charles Schumer

US Congressman Eliot Engel

US Congressman Joseph Crowley

US Congressman Jose E. Serrano

Assemblyman Jose Rivera, Chairman Bronx Democratic Party

Reverend Ruben Diaz, Sr., State Senator

Eric Schneiderman, State Senator

Jeff Klein, State Senator

Carl Heastie, New York State Assembyman

Naomi Rivera, New York State Assemblywoman

Mike Benedetto, New York State Assemblyman

Carmen E. Arroyo, New York State Assemblywoman

Luis M. Diaz, New York State Assemblyman

Maria Baez, New York City Councilwoman

G. Oliver Koppell, New York City Councilman

Annabel Palma, New York City Councilwoman

Jimmy Vacca, District Manager, Community Board 10

Elizabeth Williams-Riley, Nat'l Conference for Community & Justice

John Lemon, NAACP Bronx Chapter

Silvio Mazzella, Morris Park Community Association