

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Catharine Young

Senate Passes Drunk Driving Legislation

CATHARINE YOUNG May 17, 2006

hage not følund or type unknown

The New York State Senate has passed a bill (S.2272), that provides for additional penalties for convictions of drunk or drugged driving where a child under the age of 17 is a passenger.

The additional penalties include: an additional fine of between \$200-\$500 with an additional 48-hours of imprisonment for the first offense; an additional fine of between \$400-\$1,000 with an additional 10 days of imprisonment for the second offense; and an additional fine of between \$1,000-\$5,000 and an additional term of imprisonment of between 30-90 days for any subsequent offense.

Drunk driving with a child in the car is reckless and by most standards, constitutes neglect or even abuse. Since the early 1990s, at least 27 states have passed laws to expand protection for children and punish drunk drivers who put them at risk. This legislation is modeled after similar legislation in California that has proven to be extremely effective in keeping children safe from drunk drivers.