

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Padavan Honors 2009 Teachers of Distinction

FRANK PADAVAN May 11, 2009



New York State Senator Frank Padavan (Queens) presented awards to forty teachers during an awards ceremony in celebration of National Teacher Appreciation Week. The third annual event took place at the Queens County Farm Museum in Floral Park on Thursday afternoon, May 7th.

Teacher Appreciation Week was established in 1985 when the National Parent-Teachers Association (PTA) agreed to observe the first full week in May in dedication to teachers across the country. "This week and in particular this event, is an opportunity to say thank you to each and every teacher who tirelessly gives of themselves day in and day out in the classrooms throughout our community," Padavan said. "Today we extend our gratitude and heartfelt thanks to teachers who inspire our children to reach new heights and strive for their dreams."

Principals from each school throughout the 11th Senate District were encouraged to nominate outstanding teacher from their school and submit that name to Senator Padavan to represent the school and be recognized at the awards ceremony held during National Teacher Appreciation Week. During the ceremony, Senator Padavan presented each honoree with a special Senate Certificate of Merit in recognition of their exceptional service as a teacher in Northeast Queens.

"The honorees here today represent the dedication, hard work and commitment of all teachers in classrooms throughout Northeast Queens," Padavan said. "I am proud to join with family, friends, administrators and colleagues of our outstanding teachers as we celebrate their lasting contributions to our future. On behalf of the families, students and parents of our community I extend our gratitude and congratulations to all teachers and the 2009 Teachers of Distinction."

The 2009 Teachers of Distinction honored by Senator Padavan are:

- Ruth Fried-Yeshiva University High School for Girls
- Christina MacKenzie- Whitestone Academy
- Cathy Kenny- Holy Cross High School
- Janice Hengl- Holy Trinity School
- Marica O'Neal Suber- St. Kevin School
- Sharon LaPenta- PS/IS 178Q
- Dana Chimento- PS 203
- Phyllis Pastuzka- PS/IS 166

- Robert Johnston- St.Francis Preparatory School
- Christina Cerdrone- St. Mel's School• Connie Cannone- St. Anastasia School
- Clara Kang- JHS 185
- Kendra Tinglin- PS/IS 208
- Angela Burnett- St. Andrew Avellino School
- Keri Wade-Donohue- St. Agnes Academic High School
- Judy Hom- PS 33Q
- Atia Abangapakwa-Toussaint- Holy Trinity Community School
- Vanessa Menendez- Mary's Nativity School
- Eileen Edebohls- Sacred Heart School
- JoAnn Summerville- Martin Van Buren High School
- Lina Heim- Our Lady of Lourdes
- Karen Record- Queens Centers of Progress
- Susan Mazzo- PS 94Q
- Douglas Potter- Benjamin Cardozo High School
- Karen Greenberg- PS 35Q
- Ianthy Goodison- Thomas A. Edison Center High School
- Philip Smolowitz- PS 811Q at the Queens High School of Teaching
- Houri Ghougassian- Holy Martyrs Armenian Day School
- Sharon Christian- Marie Curie MS 158
- Sister Catherine Quinn, S.C.- St. Nicholas Tolentine School
- Kathleen Retzel- Immaculate Conception School
- Jo-Ann Licciardi- Our Lady of Snows
- Ericka Conlon- St. Luke School
- Sister Patricia O'Keefe- The Mary Louis Academy
- Barbara Karafa- The Lutheran School of Flushing and Bayside
- Domingo Carrasco- PS 129Q

- Laura Buquicchio- PS 129Q
- David Dame- PS 129Q
- Susan Sladowsky- Bayside High School

At the conclusion of the ceremony, Senator Padavan presented the New York State Liberty Medal to Domingo Carrasco, Laura Buquicchio and David Dame from PS 129Q for their heroic actions in saving a fellow teachers life who collapsed in the school back in March 2009. The New York State Liberty Medal is presented to individuals who merit special commendation for their actions on behalf of their fellow New Yorkers and their community