

## Veteran of the Year Ceremony – Rensselaer County

ROY J. MCDONALD June 15, 2010



McDonald Joined by Rensselaer County Officials to Honor Veterans

Troy – On Saturday June 12, 2010 Senator Roy McDonald held the first annual 43<sup>rd</sup> Senate District Veteran of the Year Award Ceremony. Rensselaer County Executive Kathleen Jimino and Rensselaer County Clerk Frank Merola joined McDonald in recognizing Veterans from across Rensselaer County who were selected by their American Legion or V.F.W. posts to receive the honor.

22 Rensselaer County Veterans were honored at the ceremony, along with the 2010 inductee into the New York State Senate Veterans' Hall of Fame Thomas Sharpe. The Troy native, and North Greenbush resident served in the Korean War, was wounded, and is one of the first

soldiers to have been taken from the field of battle on a MedEvac helicopter when he as 18 years old.

"These Veteran's stepped forward during difficult and challenging times to serve and protect our freedoms, it is a great honor to be able to recognize their service," said McDonald, a decorated Veteran of the Vietnam War himself. "We need to continue taking time to demonstrate our thanks to these patriots, while also ensuring they receive the care and opportunities they have earned through their service.

"The freedoms we hold so dear, which are the hallmark of our nation, have been defended by the men and women of our armed services who have placed themselves in harms way for all of us. It is truly an honor to join this ceremony to recognize these honorees and thank all of our veterans who through their service, have made sacrifices on behalf of us all," said Rensselaer County Executive Kathleen Jimino.

"Flag Day weekend is perfect timing to honor our Veterans and their service to our Country," said Rensselaer County Clerk Frank Merola.

The Rensselaer County ceremony was the first of two, with the second tentatively scheduled for August to recognize Saratoga County Veterans.

## The 2010 Rensselaer County Veterans of the Year:

**Gene Bailey** 

**William Daus** 

Thomas Dougherty Sr.

Leslie Dunham

**Roy Harvin** 

John Hogan

John Keegan

**Ken Kinney** 

**James Long** 

**Neil Manchester** 

**Irving Mason** 

Franklin Mooney Jr.

John Mullen

**Armand Rivers** 

Phil Schwartz
Kevin Smith
Bill Speanburg
Nelson Sweener
Wray Tibbits
Paul Vincent
John Wright