

Thompson Honored For His Legislative Accomplisments "Job Well Done."

ANTOINE M THOMPSON October 5, 2010

ISSUE: ENVIRONMENT

COMMITTEE: ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION

For Immediate Release

October 5th, 2010

Contact: Ken Houston (716) 854-8705 sk2houston@hotmail.com

Buffalo, NY – Environmental Advocates of New York recognizes New York State Senator Antoine Thompson (D-parts of Erie & Niagara counties) as the Legislator Of The Year. The organization hands out this award annually to the lawmaker who has done the most to advance environmental policy. The news conference will be held Tuesday, October 5th in the Legislative Correspondence Association room of the Legislative Office Building, in Albany, NY.

Some of the work that Senator Thompson is being recognized for includes passing legislation that requires a one year moratorium on Hydro-fracking in New York State. This legislation temporarily puts a halt on drilling for natural gas in New York until further studies are done to see how it would impact the environment.

Senator Thompson is also credited with getting the E-Waste bill signed into law. The law requires that manufacturers of computers and other electronics must accept old and used products for recycling. Retailers also have an obligation to make information known on manufacturers' e-waste acceptance programs.

Senator Thompson is the first lawmaker from Western New York to receive this honor. "I want to thank the Environmental Advocates of New York for honoring me with this award. One of my goals is to use my position in the Senate to have a positive impact on our natural resources and use my green advocacy to affect jobs and economic development."

Senator Thompson will also be honored in Buffalo for receiving this award. A news conference will be held Friday at 5pm, October 8th at the Comfort Zone Café', located at 1002 Elmwood Ave. at Potomac in Buffalo.

Throughout his career, Senator Thompson has received various awards, which include, but are not limited to the Solar Industries Association, The 2009 WNY Climate Action Coalition Leadership Award and the Buffalo Audubon Society Government Award For Leadership and Conservation.