

Proposed Redistricting Reforms/Legislation

MARTIN MALAVÉ DILAN January 3, 2011

ISSUE: LEGISLATURE, CENSUS

Senators Dilan, Valesky, Robach, Bonacic and Governor Andrew Cuomo have introduced a bi-partisan group of measures to reform the redistricting process. Below is a summary of these bills.

Bill S.3419 - 2011 (Rules Committee) Governor Program Bill

Type: Legislative law creating a independent redistricting commission.

The "Redistricting Reform Act of 2011," (S.3419) would establish an independent redistricting commission that would draw maps for congressional and state legislative district lines every ten years following the U.S. Census. The act also proposes certain criteria—subject to the requirements of state and federal law—of any redistricting plan.

Bill S.3253-2011 (Senator Dilan)

Type: Legislative law creating a 12 member legislative advisory commission

The majority and minority leaders of each house appoints two members to the commission. Four additional public member will be added by a vote of at least six of the eight legislative members. Criteria: Minimal population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries and communities of interest, limits placing incumbents against each

other

Bill S.3254 - 2011 (Senator Dilan)

Type: Legislative law to create a nine member legislative advisory commission

Eight non-legislator members are appointed by the majority and minority leaders of each house. A ninth member will be selected by the eight other members and will serve as chair (if approved by a vote of at least six of eight others). Criteria: Minimal population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries and communities of interest, limits placing incumbents against each other.

Bill S.8521-2010 (Senator Dilan)

Type: Constitutional amendment creating a nine member bipartisan redistricting commission.

The majority and minority leaders of each house each appoint two non-legislator members. The eight appointees select an additional member by a vote of at least six of the eight who will serve as chair (with the Governor's assent). Criteria: Minimal population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries and communities of interest, limits placing incumbents against each other

Bill S.2543 - 2011 (Senator Gianaris) S.1614 - 2010 (Senator Valesky)

Type: Legislative law creating an eleven member non-partisan "apportionment" commission.

The commission members are selected by a "nominations pool" whose membership is appointed by the majority and minority leaders in each house. The first eight members later

select three additional members, one of which will serve as chair (if approved by a majority vote of the other eight members). Criteria: 1% population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries and communities of interest, competitive districts and discouraging partisan favoritism

Bill S. 2892-2010 (Senator Bonacic)

Type: Constitutional amendment creating a five member non-partisan commission

One member is appointed by the majority and minority leaders in each house: these four choose the fifth member, who shall serve as chair Criteria: 5% population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries, discourages partisan favoritism

Bill S. 6240-2010 (Senator Robach)

Type: Constitutional amendment creating a five member non-partisan commission

One member each is chosen by the majority and minority leaders in both houses. These members select a fifth member who will serve as chair Criteria: 5% population deviation, compactness, contiguity, preservation of county boundaries, discourages partisan favoritism.