

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR James L. Seward

Area Counties Included In Federal Disaster Declaration

JAMES L. SEWARD September 6, 2011

ISSUE: AGRICULTURE, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, LOCAL GOVERNMENT, SMALL BUSINESS, FEDERAL PROGRAMS

ONEONTA, 09/05/11 – State Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I-Oneonta) today reminded residents and businesses in eligible counties to apply for federal disaster assistance.

"Families and businesses in communities devastated by Irene are determined to rebuild and the federal disaster declaration is a helpful step in the ongoing recovery. I encourage those who have suffered damage to apply with FEMA as soon as possible to begin the assistance process," said Senator Seward.

Those who have suffered damage are able to register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). Registration forms and additional information can be found online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

The counties currently eligible for assistance are as follows:

Individual Assistance (Assistance to individuals and households): Albany, Clinton,
Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Rensselaer,
Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren and

Westchester counties;

 Public Assistance (Assistance for debris removal, emergency protective actions and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities): Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Schoharie, Suffolk, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester Counties. Direct federal assistance is authorized;

• Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards): All counties in the State of New York are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Additional counties may be made eligible for federal assistance as ongoing damage assessments are completed.

-30-