

Herkimer County Added To FEMA Aid List

JAMES L. SEWARD September 15, 2011

ISSUE: AGRICULTURE, LOCAL GOVERNMENT, FEDERAL PROGRAMS, GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS



ONEONTA, 09/15/11 – State Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I-Oneonta) today reminded residents and businesses in eligible counties to apply for federal disaster assistance in the wake of Irene and Lee. Herkimer County was recently added to the list of counties eligible for both individual and public assistance as a result of Hurricane Irene.

"Families and businesses in communities devastated by Irene are determined to rebuild and the

federal disaster declaration is a helpful step in the ongoing recovery. I encourage those who have suffered damage to apply with FEMA as soon as possible to begin the assistance process," said Seward.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362.

Seward also commended the announcement of a appliance grant program that will help cover the costs of replacing vital household appliances such as refrigerators, boilers washing machines and furnaces, damaged by the recent flooding.

"We must do all we can to help households who lost so much rebuild without going bankrupt," said Seward. "The flooding and storm damage destroyed many vital household appliances, and this rebate program will cover most if not all the costs of new equipment purchased helping people stay in their homes and return to life as usual as soon as possible."

The program will be administered by the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) with funding from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Purchases of appliances and equipment, with the exception of dehumidifiers, must be for replacement purposes only and purchases covered by insurance or FEMA are not eligible. Audits to verify insurance claims and/or FEMA assistance may be conducted. All grants will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis for completed applications, which will be available beginning Monday, September 19 at www.NYSApplianceRebates.com or by calling 1-877-NY-SMART (877-697-6278). The grant program will continue until funding runs out.

"The resources to rebuild are coming together piece by piece. FEMA aid to assist individuals, business and municipalities, the governor's announcement of \$15 million to help farmers which will support small businesses as well, and my own call for additional state aid to cover the local share of

public infrastructure repairs are all important building blocks to successfully restore our communities. More elements are needed and I will continue to work with federal, state and local partners to make our communities whole once again," Seward concluded.

Residents and small businesses in a total of 28 counties are now eligible to apply for the following assistance: the Individuals and Households Program, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, USDA food coupons and distribution, USDA food commodities, Disaster Legal Services, the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

The counties currently eligible for assistance from Hurricane Irene are as follows:

- Individual Assistance (Assistance to individuals and households): Albany, Bronx, Columbia,
 Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange,
 Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie,
 Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties.
- Public Assistance (Assistance for debris removal, emergency protective actions and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities): Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties. Direct federal assistance is authorized.

The counties currently eligible for assistance from Tropical Storm Lee are as follows:

• Individual Assistance (Assistance to individuals and households): Broome**Chenango**, Delaware, **Otsego**, Schenectady and Tioga counties.

All counties in the State of New York are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards).

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362.

Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Additional counties may be made eligible for federal assistance as ongoing damage assessments are completed.

Up to date information and further updates can be found on-line at www.SenatorJimSeward.com or on Senator Seward's facebook page at www.facebook.com/senatorjimseward.