

# Disaster Assistance Deadline Extended

JAMES L. SEWARD November 2, 2011

ISSUE: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, LOCAL GOVERNMENT, SMALL BUSINESS, FEDERAL PROGRAMS, GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS



ONEONTA, 11/02/11 – State Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I-Oneonta) today alerted residents and business owners who suffered damage from Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Irene that the deadline to register for federal assistance has been extended until **December 15, 2011**.

"Many families and businesses in communities devastated by Irene and Lee have already received federal assistance to begin the painstaking process of rebuilding. If you are eligible for assistance but have not yet applied I urge you to register immediately,"

said Seward.

"We've extended the registration deadline for people who – for whatever reason – have not had the opportunity to register for assistance," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Philip E. Parr. "The goal is to ensure all eligible Irene and Lee survivors have the chance to seek assistance."

To register, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Phone lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. People with hearing disabilities can use the TTY number, 800-462-7585. Applicants can also register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or with any web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at m.fema.gov. Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

Disaster assistance to individuals could include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property.

Individual assistance is now available for:

## **HURRICANE IRENE**

Albany County, Bronx County, Clinton County, Columbia County, Delaware County,
Dutchess County, Essex County, Greene County, Herkimer County, Kings County,
Montgomery County, Nassau County, Orange County, Otsego County, Putnam County,
Queens County, Rensselaer County, Richmond County, Rockland County, Saratoga County,
Schenectady County, Schoharie County, Suffolk County, Sullivan County, Ulster County,
Warren County, Washington County, and Westchester County.

## TROPICAL STORM LEE

Broome County, Chemung County, Chenango County, Delaware County, Fulton County, Herkimer County, Oneida County, Orange County, Otsego County, Schenectady County, Schoharie County, Tioga County, and Ulster County.

Public assistance is now available for:

## **HURRICANE IRENE**

Albany County, Bronx County, Clinton County, Columbia County, Delaware County, Dutchess County, Essex County, Franklin County, Greene County, Hamilton County, Herkimer County, Kings County, Montgomery County, Nassau County, New York County, Orange County, Otsego County, Putnam County, Queens County, Rensselaer County, Richmond County, Rockland County, Saratoga County, Schenectady County, Schoharie County, Suffolk County, Sullivan County, Ulster County, Warren County, Washington County, and Westchester County.

## TROPICAL STORM LEE

Broome County, Chemung County, Chenango County, Delaware County, Herkimer County, Montgomery County, Oneida County, Orange County, Otsego County, Schenectady County, Schoharie County, Tioga County, Tompkins County, and Ulster County.