

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Owen H. Johnson

Walter G. O'Connell Copiague High School Named "Advanced Placement District Of The Year" by College Board

OWEN H. JOHNSON April 10, 2012



Senator Owen H. Johnson (4th Senate District) joined with Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (8th Senate District) in presenting a New York State Senate Resolution to Jeanette Altruda, Principal of the Walter G. O'Connell Copiague High School, for being named "Advanced Placement District of the Year" by the College Board.

The national award recognizes the Walter G. O'Connell Copiague High School in the smalldistrict category. The College Board awards recognize districts that broaden their pool of students taking college-level advanced placement courses, while also increasing the percentages of students earning exam scores high enough to qualify for college credit. Data from the College Board shows that Copiague has simultaneously expanded access to Advanced Placement Classes and improved scores.

Assemblyman Bob Sweeney (11th Assembly District) presented a New York State Assembly Proclamation to the school as well. The presentations took place at the Copiague Board of Education's Annual Legislative Breakfast at the Copiague High School Cafeteria at 1100 Dixon Avenue on March 17, 2012. Members of the Class of 2012 Top Ten Students and Superintendent Charles Leunig were on hand for the presentations.

Photograph, left to right: Walter G. O'Connell Copiague High School Class of 2012 Top Ten Students Amanda Haran, Diilara Altuner, Alexander Taveras, Shannon Blackler, and Daniela Rendon; Jeanette Altruda; Principal; Owen H. Johnson, NY State Senator (4th Senate District); Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr., NY State Senator (8th Senate District); Walter G. O'Connell Copiague High School Class of 2012 Top Ten Students Alison Nahrevar, Nicole Vogt, Diane Lam, Laury Gomez-Pena, Salutatorian, and Jessica Murphy, Valedictorian; Bob Sweeney, NY State Assemblyman (11th Assembly District); and Charles Leunig, Superintendent of Schools.