

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Senator Ritchie Honors "Women of Distinction"

PATTY RITCHIE June 6, 2012



Nine from Central and Northern New York Recognized

Senator Patty Ritchie honored women from Central and Northern New York for their contributions to their community at her "Women of Distinction" ceremony in Watertown Thursday.

"The women honored today represent a wide variety of accomplishments-everything from surviving cancer, to reaching heights in the corporate world," said Senator Ritchie.

"One thing they have in common though, is that they're making a difference. Each of these women are making unique contributions that enrich our society and make our communities better places to live. It's my pleasure to recognize them for their achievements, and to say 'thanks' for all their hard work."

* READ BIOS OF THIS YEAR'S HONOREES BY CLICKING HERE *

*** WATCH THE VIDEO ***

Nearly one dozen women from the 48th Senate District were nominated for the State Senate's 2012 "Women of Distinction." The program honors women's history in New York State by recognizing outstanding leaders and everyday citizens who are making a difference.

These women follow in the footsteps of other women from Central and Northern New York who have made history, such as Dr. Mary Walker of Oswego, the only woman ever to receive the Medal of Honor, America's highest military award; and Rhoda Fox-Graves, a suffragist and woman's rights activist from St. Lawrence County, who went on to become the first woman ever to serve in the New York State Senate. Of this year's nominees, Jan Rebeor of Fulton was selected as the "Woman of Distinction," and was honored at a special ceremony in Albany last month.

Mrs. Rebeor is a life-long resident of Oswego County who survived a bout with cancer. She is retired from Ed Vayner & Associates and is currently an active member of her community, volunteering with a number of organizations.

This year's nominees included:

Oswego County

Barbara Bateman Kathleen Fenlon Mary Lou Guindon Karen Hoffman Sabine Ingerson Cathy Trowbridge Jefferson County Tammie Miller Karen Peebles <u>St. Lawrence County</u> Charlotte Garofalo More information about honorees is available by clicking here.

You can watch a short video of the celebration by clicking here.