

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

Senator Fuschillo Reappointed as Chairman of Senate Transportation Committee

CHARLES J. FUSCHILLO JR. January 25, 2013

ISSUE: TRANSPORTATION

Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (R-Merrick) today was reappointed as Chairman of the Senate's Transportation Committee. This will be Senator Fuschillo's second term as the Committee's Chairman.

The Senate Transportation Committee oversees the work of the state's transportation system, including the Department of Transportation (DOT); Department of Motor Vehicles; Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA); Port Authority of New York & New Jersey; and New York State Thruway Authority.

"Our transportation infrastructure is the lifeblood of New York State's economy. Over the last two years, the Transportation Committee focused heavily on expanding transportation capital investment to help improve our infrastructure, create jobs, and promote economic development throughout New York State. Building on that progress is necessary to ensure New York State keeps moving in the right direction. I am looking forward to continuing that work over the next two years," said Senator Fuschillo.

As Chairman of the Transportation Committee over the last two years, Senator Fuschillo has worked on a number of important initiatives, including:

- Increasing investment in the State's transportation infrastructure to create jobs, promote economic development, and upgrade roads highways, bridges, and mass transit systems across the state;
- Approving DOT and MTA capital plans to ensure that important infrastructure projects move forward;
- Supporting new programs such as NY-Works to help improve our infrastructure and put people back to work.
- Restoring the pre-tax mass transit benefit program to help lower costs for commuters;
- Expanding the use of public-private partnerships as a way to improve the state's transportation infrastructure;
- Strengthening the state's drunk driving laws;
- Preventing distracted driving.

Senator Fuschillo has also been reappointed as a member of the Senate Standing Committees on Civil Service & Pensions; Codes; Commerce, Economic Development, and Small Business; Consumer Protection; Energy and Telecommunications; Finance; Health; Judiciary; and Rules.