

Senator Klein Hosts Annual Black History Month Breakfast

JEFFREY D. KLEIN February 25, 2013

ISSUE: ARTS AND CULTURE



BRONX, NY - State Senator Jeff Klein (D-Bronx/Westchester) joined former New York City Comptroller, Bill Thompson, local elected officials, African-American Community leaders and nearly 300 constituents in celebrating Black History Month at his annual breakfast at Villa Barone Manor today. At the breakfast, the program included a keynote address from former New York City Comptroller, Bill Thompson, musical performances from the Reverend Nathaniel Tyler Lloyd Legacy Choir of Trinity Baptist Church and the presentation of awards to African-American community leaders for their work in the district and beyond.

Senator Klein stated that the event "recognizes the incredible contributions of African-Americans in our community. The contributions of those honored today help shape our communities for the better and I am proud to have the opportunity to recognize them for their incredible efforts. Whether it is working hand in hand with community leaders to empower minority candidates running for office or working to ensure that African-Americans have access to quality health care, schools and employment, I feel privileged to have the opportunity to work with and work for African-Americans in the Bronx and across New York to uplift all of our communities. I look forward to meeting, working and honoring future leaders in the African-American community for years to come."

Assemblyman Marcos Crespo and Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer attended the event. Event honorees included the **Hon. Richard Thomas**, Council Member, The City of Mount Vernon, **Mr. Lamont Parker**, Youth Committee Chair, Bronx Community Board No. 8, **Ms. Herma Williams**, President, Pelham Parkway Houses Residents Council and **Ms. Monique Johnson**, President, Throggs Neck Houses Residents Council.

[PHOTO 1]

BRONX, NY – Senator Klein stands with honorees at the Black History Month Breakfast. (From L to R): Assemblyman Crespo, Ms. Herma Williams, Ms. Monique Johnson, Senator Klein, Honorable Richard Thomas and Mr. Lamont Parker.

###