

Ritchie Honors More Than 40 Cny, Nny Educators WITH "Teachers of Excellence" Award

PATTY RITCHIE June 6, 2013

ISSUE: EDUCATION, SPECIAL EDUCATION



### **Teachers Receive Special Funding for Classroom Enrichment**

More than 40 educators from Oswego, Jefferson and St. Lawrence Counties were each awarded \$500 in special funding for classroom enrichment at Senator Patty Ritchie's "Teachers of Excellence" program, held Thursday in Watertown.

# CLICK HERE TO READ THE EVENT PROGRAM

The funding—which represents a \$22,000 addition to the increase in state education funding local schools received this year—will be used by educators for technology, supplies and other improvements in the classroom.

"From teachers who have dedicated their entire lives to teaching and those who are just starting out to teachers who have overcome major challenges to pursue their careers and those who have literally saved

lives, this group of educators is truly dynamic," said Senator Ritchie.

"I am so pleased to be able to both honor and provide extra resources to the teachers in our region who are going above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of their students."

Honorees were nominated for Senator Ritchie's "Teachers of Excellence" program for their dedication and commitment to education by colleagues, former students, friends and family members.

Educators who were honored Thursday include:

# **Jefferson County**

Deborah Babcock: Thousand Islands High School

Jenn Berie: Sackets Harbor Central School

Alice Boucher: Indian River Intermediate School Lorraine Caramanna: Lyme Central School

Cheryl Evans: Mannsville Manor Elementary School Sheena Hamiter: General Brown Central School

Chris Hyde-Hall: Case Middle School Lynn Kellogg: Clarke Middle School Valerie Pond: Carthage High School Terry Ranger: St. John Bosco Preschool Ami Richardson: Carthage Middle School Patrick Robbins: Carthage Elementary School Sharon Waligory: Carthage Middle School

#### **Oswego County**

Carol Burch: Hannibal High School

Margaret Catanzaro: Lanigan Elementary School

Kasey Dolson: Mexico Middle School

Marie Donahue: Central Square Middle School Sheryl Harrell: Paul V. Moore High School Katie Healy: Volney Elementary School

Renee Hendrickson: Volney Elementary School Barb LaBeau: Northern Oswego Academic Daniel Mainville: G. Ray Bodley High School Linda Meredith: Millard Hawk Primary School

Adam Metcalf: Mexico Middle School Emily Paglia: Fulton Junior High

Rachel Riggs: Millard Hawk Primary School Susan Ryan: G. Ray Bodley High School Melissa Staats: Paul V. Moore High School Myrtis Sterio: Oswego Middle School

Delinda Sunderland: A.A. Cole Elementary School

Thomas Wiegand: Frederick Leighton Elementary School

Tonyajo Wiegand: Volney Elementary School Meredith Williams: G. Ray Bodley High School

#### St. Lawrence County

Cathy Ashlaw: Nightengale Elementary School Dave Bailey: Madrid-Waddington School District

Beth Anne Bogdovitz: Jefferson Elementary School

Diane Drayse-Alonso: Ogdensburg Free Academy

Christina Frank: Ogdensburg Free Academy

Juliette Guarino: St. Marguerite D'Youville Academy

Jackie Kelly: Madill Elementary School Bob Ladouceur: Lincoln Elementary School Nicole Morenz: Hermon-Dekalb School District

Jennifer Prevost: Fowler Elementary Scott Sargent: Heuvelton Central School Lisa Smithers: Ogdensburg Free Academy