

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Patty Ritchie

Ritchie to Honor 65 Educators WITH Golden Apple Award

PATTY RITCHIE May 29, 2014

ISSUE: EDUCATION

RITCHIE TO HONOR 65 EDUCATORS WITH GOLDEN APPLE AWARD

Honorees to be Recognized at Friday Event in Pulaski

In recognition for their dedication to brightening the futures of students in the Central and Northern New York regions, State Senator Patty Ritchie will award 65 local educators with her Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence.

Educators receiving the award include those who dedicate their lives to working with students with special needs and individuals who ignite a passion for learning in those they teach to those who have made headlines for safeguarding students and educators who have overcome major challenges to pursue their careers.

"It doesn't matter who you are, we can all remember a teacher who has made a lasting, significant impact on our life," said Senator Ritchie.

"That's what this event is all about—recognizing educators for going above and beyond to make a difference in those who they teach. I'm pleased to recognize these 65 educators for dedicating themselves not only to their careers, but more importantly, to the students they influence each and every day."

Last year, Senator Ritchie recognized more than 40 educators from the Central and Northern New York regions through her Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence program. Since then, the program has been replicated across New York State by her colleagues in an effort to honor educators.

Golden Apple Award recipients will be honored Friday evening at 5:30 p.m. at a special ceremony that will take place at Pulaski's historic, newly renovated KalletTheater. Educators being recognized include the following:

Lisa Balles: Michael A. Maroun Elementary School Rebecca Ballard: Mexico Middle School Courtney Belloff-Barker: Black River Elementary Pamela Bice: Ogdensburg Free Academy Helen Bolen: Cleveland Elementary Teresa Burleigh: Central Square Intermediate School John Canale: Oswego High School Linda Carney: Augustinian Academy Margaret Clemens: Hugh C. Williams High School Jon Cole: Ogdensburg Free Academy Danielle Crisafulli: G. Ray Bodley High School Edward Darrh: Central Square Middle School Pamela Delfino: Minetto Elementary Toby Draper: Wilson Elementary

Fred Ensworth: Oswego Middle School Aimee Flynn: St. Marguerite D'Youville Academy Craig Freitag: Thousand Islands Central School Andrea Gibbs: Pulaski High School Christine Haessig: Fitzhugh Park Elementary Bill Hansen: Millard Hawk Primary School Sheri Hansen: Millard Hawk Primary School Elaina Hastings-Gauthier: New Haven Elementary School Renee Hendrickson: Volney Elementary School Christine Kassian: Lisbon Central School Julie Kealy: South Jefferson Middle School Lisa Keegan: South Jefferson High School Lynn Kellogg: South Jefferson Central-Middle School Robert Kuba: Indian River Central School Stacey Landas: Lura Sharp Elementary School Arlene Laut: Hannibal High School Shelly Lee: Millard Hawk Primary School Tina Lewis: Aura A. Cole Elementary School Carol Livingston: Mexico Middle School Jennifer Lyons: Millard Hawk Primary School Suzanne McLean: Ogdensburg Free Academy

Joni Macaulay: Edwards Knox Central School District Andrea Mason: Mexico High School Kylee Monroe: General Brown Jr/Sr High School Lauren Morley: Ogdensburg Free Academy Sharon Murdock: Heuvelton Central School Cindy Niles: St. Mary's Parochial School Deborah Patterson: New Haven Elementary School Jeanette Perry: Southwest Tech Center BOCES Stephanie Plaisted: East Side Elementary Simmone Pone': Brewerton Elementary School Margaret Pryor: Mexico Elementary School Jennifer Putman: Ogdensburg Free Academy Deborah Reddick: Indian River Central School Tracy Robertson: Indian River Central School Cheryl Rogers: Oswego High School Gina Salerno: Lanigan Elementary School Lisa Sargent: Lisbon Central School Carol Scaccia: Hastings-Mallory Elementary Stacie Shaffer: Ed. Center & Paul V. Moore High School Dianna Shear: Watertown High School Paul Sornborger: Sandy Creek Central School

Lisa Spereno: Phoenix Central Schools Paula Straub: Mexico High School Lynn Tayler: Morristown Central School Diane Tedford: Lyme Central Keira Thurheimer: Case Middle School TaraVanhorn: South Jefferson Middle School Maria VanPelt: La Fargeville Central School Barbara vonHoltz: Trinity Catholic School Sarah Wood: Hermon-Dekalb Central School