

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR John A. DeFrancisco

Senator DeFrancisco Holds 2014 New York State Senate Teachers of Excellence Ceremony

JOHN A. DEFRANCISCO June 6, 2014

ISSUE: EDUCATION



State Senator John A. DeFrancisco held his first-ever Teachers Of Excellence awards program on June 5, 2014, at Jordan-Elbridge High School. More than 20 educators from throughout Onondaga County were honored for their outstanding efforts to help children learn during the 2013-14 school year.

Honorees were nominated by students, faculty, and staff, as well as family members. Senator DeFrancisco presented the educators with a New York State Senate Teachers of Excellence certificate and a "Golden Apple" pin.

"Teachers are the tools that enable our youth to succeed in life," said Senator DeFrancisco. "I am proud to recognize those dedicated educators within my district, who consistently go above and beyond to educate, mentor and inspire their students."

Educators honored with this award are listed in alphabetical order of school districts:

Wendy Smiley, Baldwinsville Central School District Lisa Macomber, Blessed Sacrament Renee Brown, Cicero-North Syracuse School District Carol Goehner, Cicero-North Syracuse School District Kathy Reichel, East-Syracuse Minoa School District Lauren VanWie, Homeschool Melinda Smart, Jordan-Elbridge School District Karen Hourigan, Jordan-Elbridge School District Dan Bondgren, Jordan-Elbridge School District Jennifer O'Malley, Jordan-Elbridge School District Joe Miuccio, OCM BOCES John Steven Melfi, Onondaga Central School District Peter Chapman, Skaneateles Central School District Kathy Jerome, Solvay Central School District Sandy Ladd, West Genesee Central School District

Debbie Quick, West Genesee School District Doug Heath, Westhill School District Jeremie Auge, Westhill School District Marianne Glose, Westhill School District Maryanne Dowling, Westhill School District