

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Senator Hamilton Launches Shirley Chisholm Women of Excellence Awards with NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer, Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams, Assemblywoman Jo Anne Simon, Councilwoman Laurie Cumbo, and District Leaders Patterson and Martinez





Award honors ten distinguished women working to improve the lives of New Yorkers

Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn, NY - Senator Jesse Hamilton and co-hosts launched the inaugural Shirley Chisholm Women of Excellence Awards this evening at the First Baptist Church with over 300 guests. Senator Hamilton and co-hosts, NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer, Borough President Eric Adams, Assemblywoman Jo Anne Simon, Councilwoman Laurie Cumbo, 43rd Assembly District Leader Shirley Patterson, and 51st Assembly District Leader Arelis Martinez honored ten outstanding women who have made outstanding contributions to our community.

In advance of the awards, Senator Hamilton stated, "As ranking member of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Committee in the New York State Senate, I am particularly pleased to be able to honor the work of New York City's First Lady Chirlane McCray. Women's history month serves as an opportunity to highlight the many contributions women like New York City's First Lady and these honorees are making to our community. Each woman is working to advance the well-being of our neighborhood, our city, and our state."

The honorees were:

- Chirlane McCray, First Lady of NYC – Senator's Pioneer Award

- Angela Cooper, Assistant Director, Dr. Susan Smith McKinney Nursing and Rehabilitation Center – Health & Human Service Award

- Carmen Torres, Paralegal, Legal Aid Society – Community Service & Advocacy Award

- Esmeralda Simmons, Executive Director, Center for Law & Social Justice at Medgar Evers College – Education & Research Award

- Judith Villaroel, Director, St.Gabriel's Senior Center – Community Service & Advocacy Award - Lisa Kenner, Tenant Association President, Van Dyke Houses – Community Service & Advocacy Award

- Maria Bartolillo, Director, St. Francis School for the Deaf – Education & Research Award

- Nadia Lopez, Principal, Mott Hall Bridges Academy Education & Research Award
- Nancy Tong, District Leader, 47th Assembly District Public Service Award
- Patricia Crews, Corporate Facilities' Manager, Aeropostale Corporate Facilities' Manager – Community Service & Advocacy Award

Performers included:

- FJ Music Fusion, Feifei Yang and Jiaju Shen
- Poets from Green Earth Poets Café
- Q City Soundz Band

Special thanks to:

- Co-sponsor Emblem Health for helping to make the wonderful reception possible
- the First Baptist Church for sharing their beautiful church with us on this special occasion
- All the performers, speakers, and guests who helped make the event a success