

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Michael H. Ranzenhofer

## Ranzenhofer Honors Marone as Woman of Distinction

MICHAEL H. RANZENHOFER May 14, 2015

## ISSUE: CONSTITUENTS CORNER



Leadership Genesee Director travels to State Capitol for ceremony

State Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer has honored Leadership Genesee Director Peggy Marone as a Woman of Distinction at the 18th annual ceremony in the State Capitol, recognizing her outstanding contributions in enriching the quality of life for the community and beyond. "Peggy inspires participants of Leadership Genesee to enhance their capacity to lead, and every graduate of the one-year program can tell you how her philosophy has improved their personal and professional lives," said Ranzenhofer. "Our community is lucky to have such a thoughtful, genuine leader."

"I have worked with so many people over the past 30 years, and one of the constant takeaways is leaders are people who understand the needs of others. Leadership isn't about being first or most powerful; real power comes from ensuring those you serve are better because of your efforts. I appreciate Senator Ranzenhofer's recognition of this philosophy, and I will continue to instill it in every Leadership Genesee participant," said Marone.

As a 2002 graduate of Leadership Genesee, Peggy is passionate about her community. She is an annual volunteer for the United Way's Day of Caring. She also serves as a judge for Operation Graduation at Batavia High School, and she is a former member of the Genesee County Arts Advisory Committee.

In addition to her community involvement, Peggy is a strong advocate for theater productions in Genesee County. For over 25 years, she has held every theatrical role possible, including actress, director and stage manager. In 2010, she received an Excellence in Ensemble Acting from the Theatre Association of New York State.

## About the Women of Distinction Program

The Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 to honor great New York women. Past honorees for the 61st District include: Flora Leamer (2009); Carrie Kahn (2010); Millie Tomidy-Pepper (2011); Colleen DiPirro (2012); Ginger Lindner (2013); and Mary Anne Sears (2014).

###