

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Thomas F. O'Mara

American-Irish Legislators Society holds 41st Annual St. Patrick's Day Dinner ~ Senator O'Mara receives the 'Daniel O'Connell Award for Public Service'

THOMAS F. O'MARA March 13, 2015



Albany, N.Y. March 13—They were wearing green in Albany at the American Irish Legislators Society's 41st Annual St. Patrick's Dinner, where State Senator Tom O'Mara (R,C-Big Flats) was honored with the Society's 2015 "Daniel O'Connell Award for Public Service."

The Daniel O'Connell Award is given in tribute to the famous Irish nationalist, known as The Liberator or The Emancipator, who was Ireland's predominant politician in the first half of the 19th century. The Society presents the award annually to a state legislator demonstrating "untiring dedication, promotion and continuing support of the goals of The American Irish Legislators Society of New York State. "It's an opportunity for American Irish legislators to express our pride in our heritage, in public service and in all that the Society does throughout the year to support so many charitable and cultural activities throughout New York State," said O'Mara. "I was especially proud this year to have the opportunity to express my personal gratitude to Major General Murphy for his service to our state, our nation and to peace and freedom around the world."

The Society's guest of honor at Monday's dinner was Major General Patrick A. Murphy of the New York State Division of Military and Naval Affairs, who assumed his current duties as the 52nd Adjutant General of New York State in 2010. He leads the 16,000 members of the New York Army and Air National Guard, as well as the nearly 3,500 members of the New York Naval Militia and New York Guard.

The Society annually recognizes two state legislators for their service. This year, in addition to O'Mara, Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther (D,I,WF-Forestburgh) was also honored.

The American Irish Legislators Society was founded in 1973.

In the photo, from left to right, are: Assemblyman Michael Cusick, current President of the American Irish Legislators Society, Assemblywoman Gunther, Major General Murphy, and Senator O'Mara.

[see additional photo and read more]