2015-J3116

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Notre Dame Boys Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Class C Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The Notre Dame Boys Varsity Soccer Team, Elmira, New York, are the New York State Public High School Athletic Association's (NYSPHSAA) Class C Champions; in addition to being ranked 1st in the State, they are ranked 8th in the Nation; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Brian Adams, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record, 21-0, is outstanding, and the team

members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Notre Dame Boys Varsity Soccer Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brian Adams has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Brian Adams and all of the outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Notre Dame Boys Varsity Soccer Team; its members: Gavin Harrington, Brooks Glovins, Alec Cutler, Nick Steed, Rocco Coulibaly, Ryan Steed, Daniel Stearns, Michael Woglom, Ryan Lanning, Nate Snavely, Aidan Sharma, Connor Bayne, Blake Stermer, Connor Simpson, Matt D'Ortona, Mitchell Vargas, Will Brennan, Jr Coulibaly, Declan Sharma, and Kevin Bayne; and Coach Brian Adams on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Notre Dame Boys Varsity Soccer Team, and Coach Brian Adams.