2015-J3322

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 115th Anniversary of the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department to be celebrated on January 23, 2016

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 115th Anniversary of the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department and to honor its past and present firefighting members for 115 years of fire protection to the citizens of New Hartford and its surrounding communities; and WHEREAS, This auspicious milestone will be celebrated at the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department's Installation of Officer's Dinner on Saturday, January 23, 2016, at Harts Hill Inn, Whitesboro, New York; and WHEREAS, On December 7, 2015, the New Hartford Fire Department elected its officers for the year 2016; they include: Chief Thomas A. Bolanowski, 1st Assistant Chief James H. Monahan, 2nd Assistant Chief Scott L. Nicotera, 3rd Assistant Chief Richard E. Alexander, 1st Captain Brian D. McCormick, 2nd Captain Sean M. Luley, 3rd Captain Jonathan E. Reese, 1st Lieutenant Jason T. Stallone, 2nd Lieutenant Kevin J. Monahan, 3rd Lieutenant Robert S. Cornish, 4th Lieutenant Jeremy M. Spinella, Fire Police Captain James E. Monahan, Fire Police 1st Lieutenant William H. Randall, Fire Police 2nd Lieutenant Peter L. Rebisz, President Joseph S. Luker, Vice President David W. Butler, Treasurer David E. Maier, Assistant Treasurer James F. Spellman, Recording Secretary James F. Luley, Financial Secretary Michael J. Galligano Sr. and Director 2016-2017-2018 David M. Reynolds; and WHEREAS, Fire departments are an integral part of community protection services in every locality of our State; during the past 115 years, the courageous and devoted firefighters of the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department have valiantly responded to all types of fire emergencies and have won the praise and respect of the community which they serve; and

WHEREAS, With a membership of dedicated firefighters, the record of

the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department in public service and fire protection is one to be envied; for 24 hours a day, for 365 days a year, for 115 years, whenever the alarm sounded, these noble volunteers left their homes and went to the aid of their neighbors; and WHEREAS, The brave firefighters of the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the skill and devoted service demonstrated by individual firefighters, the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department reflects the history and development of firefighting over the past 115 years; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to proudly commemorate the 115th Anniversary of the New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department to be celebrated on January 23, 2016; and be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Chief Thomas A. Bolanowski, New Hartford Volunteer Fire Department.