2015-J3505

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Sherburne-Earlville Varsity Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of winning the 2015 Unadilla Valley Holiday Basketball Tournament

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, strong teamwork, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within our community, who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, The Sherburne-Earlville Varsity Boys Basketball Team won the 2015 Unadilla Valley Holiday Basketball Tournament with an exciting 48-41 victory over Unadilla Valley High School on Sunday, December 30, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Kevin Vibbard and Assistant Coach Josh Hough, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 9-3 to date, is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Sherburne-Earlville Boys Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Kevin Vibbard and Assistant Coach Josh Hough have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of cooperation, pride and accomplishment, and Coaches Kevin Vibbard and Josh Hough and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Sherburne-Earlville Varsity Boys Basketball Team; its members: Tyler Rodriguez, Tyler Bigford, Keegan Fredricks, Matt Hull, Dylan Seymour, Ian Fleming, Jared Jillson, Ian Fredricks, Gavin Giroux, and Sam Tuttle; Head Coach Kevin Vibbard; and Assistant Coach Josh Hough, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Sherburne-Earlville Varsity Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of winning the 2015 Unadilla Valley Holiday Basketball Tournament; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Sherburne-Earlville Varsity Boys Basketball Team.