

# CO-CHAIRS OF JOINT SENATE TASK FORCE ON HEROIN AND OPIOID ADDICTION ANNOUNCE FORUMS

GEORGE AMEDORE January 29, 2016

Senators George Amedore (R-C-I, Rotterdam), Terrence Murphy (R-C-I, Yorktown), and Robert Ortt (R, North Tonawanda), co-Chairs of the Joint Senate Task Force on Heroin and Opioid Addiction, today announced a series of forums to be held around the state to continue to examine the issues facing communities in the wake of increased heroin and opioid abuse. The Task Force will meet in Penn Yan, Oneonta, Brooklyn, and Long Island, with the forums providing an opportunity for the Task Force members to continue to solicit input from stakeholders and experts, and use the information collected to develop recommendations for legislative action.

Senator Amedore said, "The best way to develop solutions to the heroin epidemic that is wreaking havoc throughout communities in New York is to hear first-hand from treatment providers, educators, medical personnel, law enforcement, and the families that have been impacted. These forums provide valuable insight into the most effective ways we can increase prevention, treatment and recovery options for those who need it most, and I look forward to joining my colleagues on the Task Force to continue our efforts to curb this epidemic."

Senator Murphy said, "While we have made progress in New York's war on addiction we still

have work to do. Families across the state are still struggling to find adequate recovery options and more support is needed for our law enforcement agencies. These hearings will give us the opportunities to further explore what we need to do as a state to provide the necessary recovery options, advance education opportunities and pursue tougher laws to combat this deadly scourge."

Senator Ortt said, "The dangers of heroin and opioid abuse have spread to communities across our entire state, which is why it's critical for us to listen. We need to hear from individuals across the entire spectrum of this epidemic - law enforcement officials, addicts, family members, and experts in the treatment, insurance, and medical communities. This will allow us to continue our efforts to boost prevention and recovery while cracking down on drug dealers."

2016 Joint Senate Task Force on Heroin and Opioid Addiction Schedule

#### **Oneonta:**

Tuesday, February 23, 12:00 pm: SUNY Oneonta, Hunt Union Ballroom, 108 Ravine Parkway, Oneonta, NY, 13820

#### Penn Yan:

Tuesday, February 23, 6:30 pm: Penn Yan Middle School Auditorium, 515 Liberty Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527

### **Brooklyn:**

Friday, February 26, 2 pm: Knights of Columbus, 1305 86th Street (Ground Floor), Brooklyn, NY 11228

## **Long Island:**

Thursday, April 7, 2:30 pm: Bourne Mansion, 500 Montauk Highway, Oakdale, NY 11769

The Task Force advanced an initiative (S.6516) earlier this year to create a statewide narcan registry in order to track naloxone distribution, as well as usage and overdose reversals. In light of the recent decision by the Department of Health and CVS to make narcan available over-the-counter at nearly 500 CVS stores throughout the state, a statewide registry that includes the number of reversals and where they occurred will continue to provide important information in the efforts to help direct resources where they are needed most to help those that are struggling with addiction.

Members of the bipartisan task force include: Senator Fred Akshar (R-C-I, Colesville), Senator John Bonacic (R-C-I, Mount Hope), Senator Phil Boyle (R-C-I, Suffolk County), Senator David Carlucci (D, Rockland), Senator Thomas Croci (R, Sayville), Senator Hugh Farley (R-C, Schenectady), Senator John Flanagan (R-C-I, East Northport), Senator Rich Funke (R-C-I, Fairport), Senator Pat Gallivan (R-C-I, Elma), Senator Martin J. Golden (R-C-I, Brooklyn), Senator Joseph A. Griffo (R, Rome), Senator Kemp Hannon (R, Nassau), Senator Andrew Lanza (R-C-I, Staten Island), Senator William Larkin (R-C, Cornwall-on-Hudson), Senator Kenneth LaValle (R-C-I, Port Jefferson), Senator Carl L. Marcellino (R, Syosset), Senator Kathleen A. Marchione (R-C, Halfmoon), Senator Jack Martins (R-C-I, Mineola), Senator Michael Nozzolio (R-C, Fayette), Senator Tom O'Mara (R-C, Big Flats), Senator Michael Ranzenhofer (R-C-I, Amherst), Senator Patty Ritchie (R-C, Heuvelton), Senator Joseph Robach (R-C-I, Rochester), Senator Diane Savino (D, Staten Island/Brooklyn), Senator Susan Serino (R, Hyde Park), Senator James L. Seward (R-C-I, Oneonta), Senator David J. Valesky (D-Oneida), Senator Michael Venditto (R-C-I, Massapequa), and Senator Catharine Young (R-I-C, Olean).