2015-J4104

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Historical Society of Rockland County upon the occasion of hosting its 2016 Annual Dinner, and paying tribute to this year's honorees

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those organizations and individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Historical Society of Rockland County upon the occasion of hosting its 2016 Annual Dinner on Sunday, March 6, 2016, at The View on the Hudson, Piermont, New York, and paying tribute to this year's honorees; and

WHEREAS, The 2016 honorees include Marianne B. Leese, who will be receiving the Lifetime Service Award; Joseph P. Gordon, the recipient of the Community Service Award; and David Lipman, who will be receiving the Living Landmark Award; and

WHEREAS, Shortly after moving to Rockland County in 1976, Marianne B. Leese began volunteering at the Historical Society of Rockland County; when the new museum was dedicated in 1977, she helped install its first exhibition; and

WHEREAS, Rockland County Senior Historian Marianne B. Leese is the former editor of the Historical Society's quarterly journal, "South of the Mountains" and continues to serve as contributing editor; in addition, she has been involved with the historical marker program for 30 years and co-chairs the Collections Committee; and WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of Haverstraw, New York, and an esteemed

United States Navy veteran, Joseph P. Gordon is the oldest living member of General Warren Emergency Company No. 2 as well as the oldest surviving Chief of the Haverstraw Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, Always mindful of the community, Joseph P. Gordon has served on numerous Boards and volunteered for numerous groups including the Haverstraw-Stony Point Central School District Board, the Board of Cooperative Educational Services, the Haverstraw Village Democratic Committee, the Haverstraw Ambulance Corps, the Village Board of Haverstraw, the Haverstraw Garden Club, the New York State Liquid Asphalt Dealers Association and the Rockland County Volunteer Firefighters Association as well as the Historical Society of Rockland County; and WHEREAS, David Lipman is a lifelong Hillcrest-Spring Valley resident and a decorated veteran of the United States Army, who received the Bronze Star: and

WHEREAS, After earning a degree in Civil Engineering from New York University, David Lipman worked for the family business in Garnerville, New York, until he retired in the 1980s; and

WHEREAS, David Lipman has been an advocate for education and social justice in the East Ramapo School District; he has participated in the Israeli Defense Force and Volunteers for Israel; and

WHEREAS, In addition, David Lipman travels and reads avidly, maintains his professional engineer's license and spends winters in Puerto Rico, a favorite location for 40 years; and

WHEREAS, All three members are prime examples of truly great citizens who have dedicated their lives to bettering their communities; they have been called upon to contribute their time and talents to countless civic and charitable endeavors and have always given of themselves unstintingly; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire period of their community service, a period of constructive involvement, Marianne B. Leese, Joseph P. Gordon, and David Lipman have stood constant in dignity, good grace and humor;

and

WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by individuals for the benefit of others which Marianne B. Leese, Joseph P. Gordon, and David Lipman have displayed throughout their lives; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Historical Society of Rockland County upon the occasion of hosting its 2016 Annual Dinner, and paying tribute to this year's honorees; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Historical Society of Rockland County and the aforementioned honorees Marianne B. Leese, Joseph P. Gordon, and David Lipman.