2015-J4835

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION Congratulating Olean High School Boys' Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 New York State Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can only be achieved through strenuous practice, team play, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within our community, who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Olean High School Boys' Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 New York State Class B Championship; and WHEREAS, Olean Huskies successfully won the Class B New York State Title when they defeated Marlboro Central School at the Glens Falls Civic Center on Saturday, March 12, 2016; and WHEREAS, This was truly a dream season and one that will go down in the record books for all time; defense is the key to winning games and most importantly, winning a state championship 56-45 over Marlboro; as the saying goes "defense wins championships"; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the dedication and efforts of Head Coach Jeff Anastasia, Assistant Coaches Joe Palumbo and Brian Martin, Junior Varsity Coach Tim Kolasinski and Modified Coach Jason Folland; and WHEREAS, The team's overall undefeated record of 27-0 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends, and the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize those high school athlete-scholars who have achieved notable success in this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Olean Boys' Varsity Basketball Team; its members: Derek Schmidt, Monty Shoemaker, Dylan Spencer, Ben Eckstrom, Elijah Ramadhan, Dell Butler, Zack Ryan, Malakye Wofford, Jacob Cavana, Derek Dandrea, Luke Rogers, Joe Jedrosko, Mike Schmidt, Josh Bihler, Luke Chapman; and Head Coach Jeff Anastasia, Assistant Coaches Joe Palumbo and Brian Martin, Junior Varsity Coach Tim Kolasinski, Modified Coach Jason Folland, Managers Matt Peterson-Volz and George Tolsma, and Statistician TJ Magro on their outstanding season and perfect team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Olean Boys' Varsity Basketball Team; Head Coach Jeff Anastasia, Assistant Coaches Joe Palumbo, Brian Martin, Junior Varsity Coach Tim Kolasinski, Modified Coach Jason Folland, Managers Matt Peterson-Volz and George Tolsma, and Statistician TJ Magro.