## 2015-J5264

cine; and

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of celebrating its 56th Anniversary, and paying tribute to the 2016 Scholarship recipients

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those organizations and individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of celebrating its 56th Anniversary, and to pay tribute to the 2016 Scholarship recipients on Saturday, July 16, 2016; and

WHEREAS, This year, The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. will recognize the following Scholarship recipients: Kiara Benn, Amy Blaise, Ashli Edwards, Malaika English, Dakembay Hoyte, Khoret A. Hutson, Nia McCoy, Ahmin Thornhill, Gabriel Campuzano, Kayla Monae Charles, Amira Gee, Tamara Marsh, Olivia Okeke, Brianna T. Smith and Sydney Russell Wingo; and

WHEREAS, Established on March 6, 1960, The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. emanated from the foresight of two women, Reva M. Anthony and Sarah Parsons Blow, who realized the need to prepare more professionals in the field of science and medicine; and WHEREAS, The League was incorporated and granted tax-exempt status in its first year with a specific purpose of giving scholarships to students pursuing careers in science, medicine, nursing and allied medi-

WHEREAS, Now in its 56th year, this non-profit, non-sectarian organ-

ization has awarded more than 690 scholarships and citations to aspiring students including high school, pre-med, and college students; and WHEREAS, In addition, the League established an annual scholarship fund in the Department of Education at Midwood High School's Science Institute at Brooklyn College where 12 students have benefited from this innovative program; the League has also donated to the United Negro College Fund; and

WHEREAS, From 1993 to 2011, the League administered the prestigious Vivian Harrison Scholarship Endowment Fund under the direction of Executor James R. James; this further enabled expansion of scholarships to students in the fields of Law, Education, Social Science and Communication as well as the Arts; and

WHEREAS, The League is funded solely through dedicated sponsor members and a host of 93 committed Honorary Members; in 2015, the League presented its First 'Bridging The Gap To Success' Award to a 1982 recipient, Joseph L. Wright, MD, MPH, a 1997 recipient Nikki Antoinette Bethel-Grant, SVP HBO, Inc., and a 2007 recipient Amelia Rawlins, SAE News 12 Brooklyn; and

WHEREAS, On March 10, 2012, the League elected its fourth President, Beverly Jones-Lawrence, CEO; it had three past presidents, Sarah Parsons Blow, who served faithfully for 15 Years, Reva M. Anthony who served equally as well for 27 years, and Ellen Haywood who served for 10 years; and

WHEREAS, The League continues to grow with dedicated officers and members such as Loretta Van Bergen, Vice President; Dr. Cassandra White, Recording Secretary; Shawnte' Robbins, Assistant Recording Secretary; Deidre Pilgrim, Corresponding Secretary; Kimberly Vann, Treasurer; Dakato Haywood, Assistant Treasurer; Anna Belle, Founding Member and Treas-

urer Emeritus; Girlena Lawrence, Past Financial Secretary; and Aneesah Saleem, Scholarship Chair; as well as Gail Richardson, Nadia Maxwell, Sarah Washington, MD and Amelia Rawlins; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals and organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of celebrating its 56th Anniversary, and to pay tribute to the 2016 Scholarship recipients; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to President, Beverly Jones-Lawrence, The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc., and the aforementioned honorees.