2015-K1254

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team upon the occasion of reaching the 2016 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Men's Basketball Tournament Final Four

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those student athletes within our midst who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought great pride to their college and community; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and by developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate and recognize the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team upon the occasion of earning an appearance in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Men's Final Four in 2016; and WHEREAS, This was the sixth Final Four appearance in program history, and its 38th invitation to the NCAA Tournament; and WHEREAS, Coach Jim Boeheim guided the team to the Final Four in his 40th season as Head Coach, earning his fifth Final Four appearance and 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance; and WHEREAS, The 2015-16 Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team overcame great adversity and odds to earn their way to the Final Four, becoming just the fourth team in the history of the NCAA Tournament to

reach the Final Four as a double-digit seed; additionally, they were the first 10th seed to reach the Final Four; and WHEREAS, During their "Road to the Final Four", Syracuse defeated the University of Dayton, Middle Tennessee State University, Gonzaga University and number 1 seed in the Midwest Region, the University of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, Though the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Program lost in the National Semifinal to the University of North Carolina, the team played hard, never gave up, and kept their heads high; and WHEREAS, The Syracuse University Men's Basketball Program finished with a 23-14 record and with a ranking of 10th in the final USA TODAY Coaches Poll; and

WHEREAS, The outstanding athletic talent, teamwork and sportsmanship displayed by the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team is due in great part to the skilled and supportive efforts of Head Coach Jim Boeheim, Assistant Coach Mike Hopkins, Assistant Coach Adrian Autry, Assistant Coach Gerry McNamara, Video Coordinator Todd Blumen, Director of Men's Basketball Operations Kip Wellman, Director of Strength and Conditioning Ryan Cabiles, Assistant Athletic Director-Sports Medicine Brad Pike, Associate Director Student-Athlete Development Joe Fields and Graduate Manager Pete Corasaniti; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the support of fans within both the Syracuse University and Central New York communities showed great enthusiasm; the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team ranked second in attendance nationwide with an average of 21,592, and the team attracted the largest, on-campus, regular-season crowd of 2015-16 with 28,696 in attendance for a game against the University of Pittsburgh; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship, honor and scholarship, while demonstrating these team players are of the highest caliber, while contributing to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of their university; now,

therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team; its outstanding members: Doyin Akintobi-Adeyeye, Adrian Autry, Shaun Belbey, Paschal Chukwu, DaJuan Coleman, Trevor Cooney, Evan Dourdas, Ky Feldman, Michael Gbinije, Franklin Howard, Kaleb Joseph, Tyler Lydon, Chinonso Obokoh, Jonathan Radner, Malachi Richardson, Tyler Roberson, Mike Sutton, Christian White; and Head Coach Jim Boeheim, Assistant Coach Mike Hopkins, Assistant Coach Adrian Autry, Assistant Coach Gerry McNamara, Video Coordinator Todd Blumen, Director of Men's Basketball Operations Kip Wellman, Director of Strength and Conditioning Ryan Cabiles, Assistant Athletic Director-Sports Medicine Brad Pike, Associate Director Student-Athlete Development Joe Fields and Graduate Manager Pete Corasaniti on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Syracuse University Men's Basketball Team, and the aforementioned coaches and staff.