## 2015-J5292

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 175th Anniversary of the founding of Wyoming County, New York, on May 19, 2016

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and recognize the distinguished histories of communities across this great Empire State, and to celebrate the people and places that make these communities strong; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 175th Anniversary of the founding of Wyoming County, New York, to be celebrated with a myriad of public events on Thursday, May 19, 2016: and

WHEREAS, For the past 175 years, Wyoming County has proudly stood as a close-knit, safe and vibrant community in western New York State; and WHEREAS, On May 19, 1841, 13 members of the Wyoming County Board of Supervisors voted to divide the County of Genesee to create the County of Wyoming; the inaugural members of the Board included Oliver Hodges, from the town of Attica; Isaac Pierce, Jr. from the town of Bennington; Clark Sanford, from the town of Castile; John Smith, from the town of China; Uriah Johnson, from the town of Covington; Ira F. Pratt, from the town of Gainesville; Joseph Currier, from the town of Java; Thomas Durfee, from the town of Middlebury; Labanah Winchester, from the town of Orangeville; Truman Benedict from the town of Perry; Eleazer Baldwin, from the town of Sheldon; Allen Fargo, from the town of Warsaw, and Daniel Wolcott, from the town of Wethersfield; and WHEREAS, As recorded in the ledger of minutes of the First Sessions of the Wyoming County Board of Supervisors in Batavia, New York on June 8, 1841, the first resolution of the Board of Supervisors was to appoint Truman Benedict as the first Chairman, and to recognize that Chester A.

Arthur, 21st President of the United States, lived in the village of Perry in Wyoming County when he was a boy from 1833-1839; and WHEREAS, It was also noted that the citizens of Wyoming County were actively involved in the anti-slavery movement and that the AMERICAN CITIZEN, an anti-slavery newspaper, was established in the town of Warsaw in 1836; and

WHEREAS, On April 1, 1846, Eagle, Pike and Genesee Falls (which was created from the town of Portage) were annexed to Wyoming County, and on November 17, 1859, a law was enacted to preserve the fish in the waters of Silver Lake in the towns of Perry and Castile; and

WHEREAS, The boundary line was changed between the Towns of China and Eagle, in the county of Wyoming, and the Town of China was changed to the Town of Arcade by the New York State Senate and Assembly on January 19, 1866; and

WHEREAS, On January 24, 1907, New York State Governor Hughes signed a bill accepting the gift of the 1,000 acre Glen Iris property from philanthropist and humanitarian, William Pryor Letchworth, to be forever used as a park; shortly thereafter, the New York State Legislature passed a resolution naming it "Letchworth Park", which falls partly within the towns of Castile and Genesee Falls; in 2015, the park was voted the No. 1 2015 Best State Park in the USA TODAY 10 Best Readers' Choice Award; and

WHEREAS, On January 1, 1950, Charlotte Smallwood-Cook took office as Wyoming County District Attorney, the first female District Attorney in the state; in February of 1964, the County was the first in the state to establish a medical scholarship program to entice doctors into local practice; and

WHEREAS, Five decades later, Anne Humphrey was the first woman to be appointed Chair of the Board of Supervisors; and WHEREAS, Today, Wyoming County continues its steadfast commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all of its residents, ensuring a safe,

peaceful and educational climate for individuals and families to thrive; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 175th Anniversary of the founding of Wyoming County, New York, on May 19, 2016, in order to recognize the significant role the county plays in the life of the community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to A. D. Berwanger, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors, Wyoming County, and to Cindy Amrhein, Wyoming County Historian.