2015-J5346

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2016 Winter Scholar Athletic Team Champion Award by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2016 Winter Scholar Athletic Team Champion Award by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the New York State Public High School Athletic
Association (NYSPHSAA) presents the Scholar Athletic Team Champion Award
to exceptional high school sports teams who have compiled the highest
overall team average in the state for their respective sports; and
WHEREAS, The Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team captured
this prestigious award by posting an outstanding academic average of
99.50; and

WHEREAS, The demanding practice schedule, combined with the ability to balance that with the requirements of a rigorous academic program, has paid off with a special honor; it is a credit to the Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team's ability to compete at a high level on

the field and in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their community and school; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team; its members: George Adams, Anthony Avelino, Brandon Avelino, Toshio Barber, Josh Blass, Christopher Brandt, Max Buchen, Aldo Bushati, Luke Carmosino, Riley Conklin, Aidan Denahy, William Dwyer, Alex Eccles, Jordan Gaddy, Zachary Gallin, Kent Hoyama, Jason Kim, Griffin Knapp, Brian Lenz, Lucas Maciel, David Markowitz, Ian McClure, Jared McGuire, Kumani McLean, Ben Milan-Polisar, Scott Mitchell, Kody Morris, Jung Won Park, William Pascal, Andres Picon, John Powers, Brian Puff, Ian Reilly, Andrew Sahawneh, Justin Shedrofsky, Josef Silvestre, Jerry Wu, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Irvington High School Boys Indoor Track Team.