2015-J5406

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2016 New York State Senate Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our state celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the State; and WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves, as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and
WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this opportunity to congratulate Jill Alford-Hammitt, Sherlita Amler, MD, MS, FAAP, Yvonne P. Armstrong, Cora D. Austin, Vikki Barbero, Cheryl Lynn Brannan, Sister Margaret Carney, O.S.F., S.T.D., Elizabeth Shell Carr, Claudia
Coger, Ruth Johnson Colvin, Sister Mary Doris, Eva M. Doyle, Rosemary
Durso, Audrey Sparks Fussa, Gail Goodson, Debora M. Hayes, Karen A.
Heggen, Cindy Doring Hollowood, Ellen Holmes, Mary Iapalucci, Ellen R.
Imbimbo, Doryne Isley, Mary Frances Jeffrey, Candace S. Johnson, Ph.D., Nicole Johnson, Jahmila K. Joseph, Reverend Ann Kansfield, Virginia M.
Krebs, Thomasina Laidley-Brown, Annmarie Lanesey, Linda M. LeMura, Ph.D., April Leong, Blanca P. Lopez, Heidi Macpherson, Ph.D., Janet McEneaney, Jill Estabrook Morris, Lesli C. Myers, Ed.D, Donna Christina Oliverio, Meghan Ortega, MaryAnn Pfeiffer, Trudy Pogue, Pia J. Raymond, Inez Rodriguez, Bonnie Ross, Florence Santini, Vita Scaturro, Anita Seefried-Brown, Mardie Sheiken, Ph.D., Tatiana Shlomovich, Chitra Singh, Honorable Deborah A. Slezak, Dawn R. Smith, Marjorie J. Smith, Carmen Tapia, Yudelka Tapia, Wendy Tepfer, Barbara Toborg, Ann Torcivia, Constance A. Wille as 2016 New York State Senate Women of Distinction, to be celebrated on Tuesday, May 10, 2016, at the Annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony in The Well of the Legislative Office Building; and

WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York's lasting heritage by fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2016 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.