

Senator Ortt Honors The College at Brockport President as a New York State Senate "Woman of Distinction"

ANTOINETTE DELBEL May 10, 2016

ISSUE: WOMEN OF DISTINCTION



ALBANY - State Senator Rob Ortt (R,C,I – North Tonawanda) today recognized The College at Brockport President Heidi Macpherson, PhD, as one of the New York State Senate's "Women of Distinction" during a ceremony at the Legislative Office Building. President Macpherson was personally selected by Senator Ortt and was among 58 other distinguished women who were honored by the state Senate this evening.

The Senate's Women of Distinction program celebrates outstanding women from all walks of life throughout New York State whose contributions have enriched the quality of life in our communities.

"There are remarkable women in our midst whose lives, work or special accomplishments contribute to making our communities better, making our families stronger and serve as special examples to others. President Macpherson is one of those women," said Senator Ortt. "The Senate's Women of Distinction program provides a special opportunity to honor these women for their achievements and to thank them for the pride they bring to our communities."

"I'm honored that Senator Ortt selected me as the 'Woman of Distinction' for his district, as enhancing our community is such an important part of what we are trying to accomplish," said President Macpherson. "In the short time I've been at Brockport, Senator Ortt has proven to be a friend to the College and a strong supporter of public higher education."

On Friday, April 29, Dr. Heidi Macpherson was formally installed as The College at Brockport, State University of New York's, seventh president. She is the first female president in the college's history, which dates back to 1835, to hold this prestigious role. Senator Ortt first met President Macpherson last summer, shortly after she took over leadership of the college in July 2015.

President Macpherson has more than 20 years of experience in higher education as an English professor, a writer and administrator in both the United States and England. Prior to her current position, Macpherson served as the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

The Minnesota native spent 22 years of her life in the United Kingdom, where she developed a love for international education and launched her career in higher education. Pres. Macpherson began her academic career at the University of Central Lancashire in England in 1995. While there, she took on the roles of program leader, head of the division of English, head of the Department of Humanities and professor. In 2007, she was appointed Dean of Humanities at De Montfort University in Leicester, England and subsequently held two different Pro Vice-Chancellor positions there. As Pro Vice-Chancellor at De Montfort, Macpherson wrote the university's Teaching, Learning and Assessment Strategy.

Additionally, Pres. Macpherson plays a vital role in her community – on a regional, national and international level. She's an active member of Rotary International. In her previous role, she volunteered with the YWCA and Bethany Lutheran Homes. She's a member of the United Way Women's Leadership Council Steering Committee, and the Rochester Regional Community Advisory Council for Rochester Regional Health. In June, Macpherson will be recognized as the Honorary Chairwoman of the New York State Special Olympics, which will be held in Brockport.

"President Macpherson is someone who is not only committed to the academic community at The College at Brockport, but also to her community at home and abroad," said Senator Ortt. "Her leadership, experience, and role in society are many of the reasons why I chose to recognize her as a woman of distinction in the Senate. She truly embodies the word 'distinction."

President Macpherson calls the Village of Brockport in Monroe County home, where she lives with her husband, Dr. Allan Macpherson, and her Springer Spaniel, Tilly.

The "Women of Distinction" celebration was started in 1998. Previous winners in the annual event have included leading women from the world of business, academics and civic life, as

well as those who have performed heroic or selfless acts, made significant discoveries, or provided examples of personal excellence against difficult odds.