

Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway Expands into Cattaraugus County, Bringing Greater Community Pride and Economic Opportunities

CATHARINE YOUNG May 19, 2016

ISSUE: TRANSPORTATION, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, RECREATION AND TOURISM



ELLICOTTVILLE – The Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway (WNYSSB) designation will promote tourism and economic growth in Cattaraugus County.

During a ceremony at Holiday Valley, Senator Catharine Young (R,C,I- 57th District), Senator Patrick Gallivan (R,C,I- 59th District), Assemblyman Joseph Giglio (R,C,I- Gowanda) and

Assemblyman David DiPietro (R,C-East Aurora) joined members of the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway Committee, local officials and business leaders to formally dedicate the expansion of the byway.

Legislation enacted last year allowed for the Scenic Byway to be expanded into Cattaraugus County. With today's dedication ceremony, another 37 miles of roadway has been added to the existing byway corridor, bringing greater attention to northern Cattaraugus County's resources, thus increasing community pride and boosting the local economy.

In Cattaraugus County, the byway now incorporates portions of Route 219, State Route 240, and State Route 242 within the Towns of Ashford and Ellicottville, and the Village of Ellicottville. In Springville, travelers are encouraged to visit the Scoby Dam which boasts superb trout fishing. The Byway passes along the Griffis Sculpture Park in East Otto, as it makes its way toward the area's industry leading ski slopes.

"The Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway status will provide another avenue to showcase Cattaraugus County's myriad of historical, natural, cultural and recreational opportunities. Tourism is vital to our region's economy and the expansion of the Scenic Byway will continue the mission of making Cattaraugus County a destination location," said Senator Young.

"I thank my colleagues in the legislature, the DOT Scenic Byway Advisory Board, members of the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway Committee, and everyone involved for their dedicated efforts to make this happen," said Senator Young.

"Expansion of the Southtowns Scenic Byway is long overdue. This is a great way to promote the natural beauty of our region and the many unique communities and points of interest in Western New York. Extending the byway to include Cattaraugus County will boost tourism efforts and provide economic opportunities for local businesses, towns and villages along the entire route," said Senator Patrick Gallivan.

"The expansion of the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway into Cattaraugus County is a victory for my district. This designation will help promote and enhance the tourism and travel industry in Cattaraugus County and Western New York, and I am happy to welcome this opportunity to our area," said Assemblyman Giglio.

"I am proud to have worked with Senator Young to sponsor legislation which was signed into law last year by the Governor. I am grateful for the support of our colleagues in the Legislature, the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway Coalition and the Department of Transportation's Scenic Byway Advisory Board. The byway route in Cattaraugus County, nestled in the spectacular foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, will attract additional visitors and help create recreational and economic opportunities for the entire region," Assemblyman Giglio said.

"I've been following and supporting this measure since my time as Mayor of East Aurora, and it's great to finally see it come to fruition," Assemblyman DiPietro said. "We all have fought tirelessly for the expansion of the Southtowns Scenic Byway. I look forward to the tourism boost this will assuredly provide our region."

"The Western New York Southtowns are graced with a series of highways which now have been brought together under the banner of the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway. The purpose is to unite Erie and Cattaraugus Counties, and numerous towns and villages, into a regional attraction for tourists and the citizens of the area. The Byway forms a 108 mile scenic loop that runs from the towns of Orchard Park and Aurora south through Boston, Colden, and Concord. The byway now has the honor of encompassing 'The Heart of the Southtowns.' I would like to express my sincere gratitude to Senators Young and

Gallivan, and Assembly members Giglio and DiPietro for their leadership in this effort. I also want to thank the New York State Department of Transportation for their cooperation throughout the history of the Byway," said Western New York Southtown Scenic Byway President Bob Lennartz.

Passing through the towns of Aurora, Boston, Colden, Concord, East Aurora, Orchard Park and Springville, the byway encourages visitors to enjoy recreational activities like the Roycroft Campus, year-round sporting activities, and environmental sanctuaries like Knox Farm State Park.

More information on the byway can be found at http://wnyssb.org/.

RELATED LEGISLATION

2015-S5326

- Introduced
- o In Committee Assembly
 - o In Committee Senate
- o On Floor Calendar Assembly
 - o On Floor Calendar Senate
- o Passed Assembly

- Passed Senate
- Delivered to Governor
- Signed By Governor

•

Expands the Western New York Southtowns scenic byway in the county of Cattaraugus

May 13, 2015

Signed by Governor

Sponsored by Catharine Young

Do you support this bill?