

Reflection of Hope

JESSE HAMILTON May 31, 2016

ISSUE: COMMUNITY EVENTS, MENTAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES, HEALTH, PUBLIC HEALTH



My pleasure to host the inaugural Reflection of Hope Awards in partnership with NYC Public Advocate Letitia James, Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer, Brooklyn Borough President Eric L. Adams, NYS Assemblyman Marcos Crespo, NYC Councilmember Andrew Cohen, and NYC Councilmember Corey Johnson. We recognized the contributions of individuals and organizations in the fields of mental health and developmental disabilities and marked Mental Health Month 2016. I was happy to join with colleagues and honor the

contributions of individuals and organizations that have contributed to the well-being of all New Yorkers.

Comprised of the Inspiring Hope, Pioneer, Student, Advocacy, and Program Innovation Awards, we recognized: the achievements of individuals with mental illnesses and addictions and their families; the clinicians and treatment teams that care for them; the advocates and leaders who tell their stories to educate and encourage community support; and the organizations that promote health and wellness across the lifespan and build healthy communities.

Thanks to the event sponsors, Humana and Emblem Health, thanks to John Jay College for welcoming us to your campus, thanks to everyone who made the event possible, and thanks to all the honorees for your dedication to helping your fellow New Yorkers!

Full list of Reflection of Hope Awards Honorees:

- Inspiring Hope Awards
 - o First Lady Chirlane McCray, Visionary, ThriveNYC
 - o Brandon Marshall, Co-Founder, Project 375
 - o Michi Marshall, Co-Founder, Project 375
- Pioneer Awards
 - o Andrea Smyth, Executive Director, NYS Coalition for Children's Behavioral Health
 - o Carmen Collado, Chief Networking and Relationship Officer, ICL
 - o Glenn Liebman, CEO, Mental Health Association in New York State
 - o Jasmin Thomas, Clinical Assistant Professor, SUNY Downstate

- o Keishaia Griffith, Guidance Counselor, P.S. 284 The Lew Wallace School
- o Michaela Angela Davis, Writer and Image Activist
- o Kinsey McManus, Services Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness NYC-Metro
- Dr. Sidney Hankerson, Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry at Columbia
 University
- o Terrie Williams, Author, Black Pain
- Winifred Schiff, Associate Executive Director for Legislative Affairs, InterAgency
 Council of Developmental Disabilities Agencies
- Program Innovation Awards
 - Brooklyn Community Services
 - o Chinese-American Family Alliance for Mental Health
 - Elmy's Special Services
 - Families on the Move
 - o NYC Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW-NYC)
 - o Urban Justice Center Mental Health Project
- John Jay College Student Advocacy Awards
 - Eilleen Molina
 - Salma Abdou
 - Graziella Martinez