2015-J6080

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the 2016 National Championship Title

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought great pride to their college and to the Central New York community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team claimed its fifth national championship title on May 29, 2016, with an 8-4 victory against Limestone College in the NCAA Division II National Lacrosse Championship at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and WHEREAS, The national championship game was the first in Division II history that featured undefeated opponents vying against one another for the crown; and

WHEREAS, The Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team finished the 2016 season with a perfect 20-0 record; in addition, members of the Le Moyne Class of 2016 finished with a 67-8 overall record and two national championships, while going 41-3 in the Northeast-10 Conference; and WHEREAS, Furthermore, the five national titles held by the Le Moyne

College Men's Lacrosse Team are tied for the most in Division II, since the NCAA Division II National Championship was reinstated in 1993; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the skilled and supportive efforts of Head Coach Dan Sheehan, Assistant Coaches Max Wagner, Ben Romagnoli, Matt Cassalia, and Tim Desko, and Graduate Assistant Coach Vinnie Alexander; and WHEREAS, Throughout the season, members of the Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team were loyally and enthusiastically supported by their family, fans and the Central New York community at large; and WHEREAS, The Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship, honor and scholarship, while demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, contributing to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate all of the Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team; its players: Ryan Suddaby, Andrew French, Ryan Cosgrove, Mike Nanosky, Mike Jenkins, Justin Kesselring, Bailey Wilkinson, Josh Slowinski, Alex O'Brien, Robert McCarthy, Nick Kline, Jake Turck, Brian Rogers, Mike Fiorini, Daniel Lynch, Cade Kelleher, Matt Taylor, Kyle DeAngelis, Dan Entenmann, Greg White, Drew Brooks, James Felix, Jake Mortier, Andrew Jackson, Eric Chadderdon, Luke Bartkoski, Zac Prattson, Kacin Welch, Bryan Schenk, Troy Walters, Cameron Pierce, Brendan Entenmann, Peter Vadney, Logan Thomas, Billy Chapman, Tyler Hall, Kyle Lumpe, Kendall Vecchio, Pat Nowak, Alex Krawec, Ryan Desmond, Jack Vajda, Zak Sealy,

Dylan Borkowski, Kyle Moyer, Zac Cooley, Ryan Kohutanich, and Jake Fredal on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members and coaches of the Le Moyne College Men's Lacrosse Team.