2015-J6151

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 191st Anniversary of the Independence of Bolivia on August 6, 2016

WHEREAS, The Bolivian region in the Andes has likely been inhabited for nearly 20,000 years; it was home to the Tiwanakan culture, the Moxos, Mollos, and later the Incas until the Spanish conquest in 1525; and WHEREAS, What is today Bolivia was long deemed a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Peru, known as Alto Peru; and WHEREAS, There was a long conflict in authority between Upper Peru and Peru, and the colonies with the Spanish crown; this conflict of authority resulted in a local power struggle in Upper Peru between 1808 and 1810, which constituted the first steps taken toward autonomy; and WHEREAS, In 1808, the President of the Audiencia, Ramon Garcia Leon de Pizarro, leaned towards affiliation with Carlotta, but the oidores of the Audiencia favored the Supreme Central Junta; on May 25, 1809, the oidores deposed President Garcia Leon de Pizarro and established a junta to govern in the name of Ferdinand VII; and WHEREAS, During the following seven years, Upper Peru became the battleground for forces of the United Provinces of the River Plate and royalist troops from Peru; although the royalists repulsed three Argentine invasions, guerrillas controlled parts of the countryside, where they formed six major republiquetas; and WHEREAS, By 1817, Upper Peru was relatively quiet and under the control of the Viceroyalty of Peru; and WHEREAS, By the early 1820s, General Simon Bolivar succeeded in liberating both Venezuela and Colombia from Spanish domination; in 1822, he dispatched Antonio Jose de Sucre to Ecuador to defeat the Royalists at the battle of Pichincha; and WHEREAS, After years of guerrilla action against the Spanish and the

victories of Bolivar and Sucre in the battles of Junin and Ayacucho, Peru won its independence; and WHEREAS, At this point, Sucre incited a declaration of independence for Alto Peru, and exactly one year later, on August 6, 1825, the new Republic of Bolivia was founded by a constitutional congress in honor of Simon Bolivar; and WHEREAS, Bolivar and Sucre served as Bolivia's first and second presidents; and WHEREAS, Many Bolivians have made New York their home, and this Legislative Body is justly proud to thank the Bolivian people for their contributions to this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 191st Anniversary of the Independence of Bolivia on August 6, 2016.