

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR

Rich Funke

FUNKE HOSTS INAUGURAL 55TH DISTRICT TEACHER APPRECIATION EVENT

RICH FUNKE September 16, 2016



Senator Rich Funke hosted the 55th Senate District's inaugural Teacher Appreciation Celebration on Thursday, September 15, 2015 at the Rochester Teachers Association headquarters in Union Place in the City of Rochester. Over 30 teachers from across Monroe and Ontario counties were honored for excellence in the classroom and for their efforts to go above and beyond the call of duty on behalf of their students. To launch the new school year on a high note, principles and colleagues from every school in the 55th Senate District were asked to nominate the best and brightest teachers from their buildings for this honor. The teachers honored at the ceremony have all distinguished themselves in their field in a number of ways and are deserving of special recognition. To nominate a teacher for recogition in 2017, please submit the individual's name, specialty, school, and school district, along with a short biography and a photo to funke@nysenate.gov prior to April 1, 2017.

The 55th District's 2016 Teachers of Distinction are:

Melissa Arber, Math Teacher (AP Statistics), Bloomfield High School Donald Benedict, Third Grade Teacher, Nathanial Hawthorne School #25 Leah Besaw, Second Grade Teacher, Victor Primary School Colleen Betrus, Librarian & Media Specialist, Naples Junior & Senior High School Wendy Boomer, Fifth and Sixth Grade Teacher, Iroquois Middle School, West Irondequoit Zachary Clarry, Eighth Grade Social Studies Teacher, Honeoye Falls Lima Middle School Jessica Colavecchia, Math Teacher, Eastridge High School, East Irondequoit Julie Colombo, Special Education Teacher, Bay Trail Middle School, Penfield Priscilla Crawford, Retired Fifth Grade Teacher, Naples Elementary School Kathy Deiure, Retired Second Grade Teacher, Helendale Road School, East Irondequoit Margot Egling, Reading Teacher, The Children's School of Rochester, School #15 Lynne Forsyth, Seventh Grade English Language Arts Teacher, Victor Junior High School Lori Fox, Speech Pathologist, Laurelton Pardee School, East Irondequoit Natalie Hatz, Reading Teacher, Lima Primary School, Honeoye Falls Lima Nicole Juzwiak, Second Grade Teacher Geri Krick, Literacy Specialist, Instructional Support Team, East Rochester Elementary School Angie Lopez, Elementary Music Teacher, Honeoye Central School Doreen Mangee, Retired 1st Grade Teacher, Ivan Green Elementary School, East Irondequoit Jori Mckenna, Fifth Grade Teacher, Rogers Middle School, West Irondequoit Caroline Mezzoprete, Third Grade Teacher, Charles Carrol School #46

Megan Miller, Social Studies Teacher, Honeoye Falls Lima

Lyndsey Montstream, Pre-Kindergarten Teacher, Nathanial Hawthorne School #25

Vanilla Omollo, Kindergarten Teacher, Frank Fowler Dow School #52

Lori Pritchard, Ninth Grade English Teacher, East Rochester High School

Bambai Rocco, Middle School Reading Teacher, Durand Eastman School, East Irondequoit

Ann Sojda, Kindergarten Teacher, Seneca School, West Irondequoit

Samantha St. James, Reading Teacher, Thornell Road Elementary School, Pittsford

Amy Ward, Reading Teacher, Lima Primary School, Honeoye Falls Lima

Eric Williamson, Sixth Grade Social Studies & Science Teacher, The Children's School of Rochester, School #15

Lynae Wozniak, English Teacher, Eastridge High School, East Irondequoit

Cindy Zauski, Art Teacher, Manor Intermediate School, Honeoye Falls Lima