2017-J106

Senate Resolution No. 106

BY: Senator BRESLIN

CONGRATULATING the Troy High School Football Team and Coach Bob Burns upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Troy Football Team captured the 2016 New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Championship with an exciting 21-20 win over the Victor High School Blue Devils in their final game on Saturday, November 26, 2016, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, With this victory, the Troy Flying Horses captured the program's third New York State Title, a Class AA Section II record; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Bob Burns and his team of outstanding assistant coaches, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's outstanding overall record of 13-0 is the first in school history, and the first in Class AA Section II history; the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the 2016 Troy High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season, to participation in the 2016 New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class AA Championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, it was a long and tough road for the team members who have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Coach Bob Burns and his dedicated staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Bob Burns and these outstanding athletes

have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2016 Troy High School Football Team; its members: Joey Ward, Nick Pastore, John Germinerio, Ryan Carmello, Brandon Holmes, Joe Casale, Dev Holmes, Matt Ashley, Isaiah Burdette, Mikey Hiraldo, Jessie Brown, Xavier Leigh, Malik Johnson, James Kelley, Daquan Hemingway, Luis Virola, Tyrone Jones, Nate Woods, Jordan Audi, Elliot Ankomah, Shawn Seabury, Cam Ziter, Mike Fazio, Malieke Morias, Derrick Cipriani, Robert Talham, Saverio Yamin, Tafari Nedrick, Jasier McLean, Ryan Williams, Tyler Vanderwood, Kneico Gonzalez, Alex Ramos, Amaru Dallas, Alex Demarist, Ronnie Franklin, Ethan Evans, Zion Sankey, Lamani Emery; and Coach Bob Burns, on their championship season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the 2016 Troy High School Football Team and Coach Bob Burns.