

Senator Ortt Named as Member of Senate Energy Committee

ANTOINETTE DELBEL January 10, 2017

ISSUE: ENERGY AND TELECOMMUNICATIONS



Senator Rob Ortt (R,C,I – North Tonawanda) today was named as a member of the Standing Committee on Energy and Telecommunications. Temporary President of the state Senate and Majority Leader John Flanagan announced the committee assignments during legislative session this afternoon.

The Senate Energy and Telecommunications Committee oversees the development of legislation and policy related to energy and communications sectors. Committee members aim to promote competitive markets, support private investment, streamline regulations, create jobs and keep consumer costs down. Priorities include modernizing the state's energy generation, transmission and distribution; facilitating expansion of renewable and clean energy technologies; and expanding high-speed broadband and other new communication technologies to underserved areas of the state.

Senator Ortt said, "I truly look forward to serving on the Senate Committee on Energy - on an issue of vital importance to our community and our entire state. With the greatest generating capacity in the state, the Niagara Power Project is a substantial component of the state's energy portfolio, and plays a critical role in the Western New York economy. I'm dedicated to continuing our region's success with traditional major sources of energy - like Niagara and Somerset - while exploring innovative technologies of tomorrow like solar and geo-thermal to maintain and create good, local jobs. I believe we can meet the significant capacity demands throughout the state and that Western New York's workforce and ingenuity will be a critical part of it. We can do this while protecting our environment and ensuring local residents play a significant role in decision-making."

Senator Ortt will remain as Chairman of the Standing Committee on Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. He is also a member of the following Senate Standing Committees: Veterans, Homeland Security and Military Affairs; Local Government; Higher Education; Environmental Conservation; Corporations, Authorities and Commissions; and Civil Service and Pensions.