2017-J248

Senate Resolution No. 248

BY: Senator TEDISCO

CONGRATULATING the Shenendehowa High School Field Hockey Team and Head Coach Jeanne Frevola upon the occasion of capturing the Class A NYSPHSAA Field Hockey Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Shenendehowa High School Field Hockey Team and Head Coach Jeanne Frevola upon the occasion of capturing the Class A NYSPHSAA Field Hockey Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Plainsmen defeated Scarsdale High School in a 2-1 victory to win the Championship; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of green and white,

family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Plainsmen throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 21-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as field hockey, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Jeanne Frevola and her skilled coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jeanne Frevola and all of the outstanding athletes on the Shenendehowa High School Field Hockey Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Shenendehowa High School Field Hockey Team: Jenna Graf, Eliza Branch, Kelli Russo, Julia Chang, Victoria Timpanaro, Abby Harris, Carli Pelletier, Nicole Picchi, Jess Wolfe, Kelly Buckley, Hannah Crouse, Meghana Caron, McKenzie Woerner, Julia Shanahan, Alex Henniger, Tegan Robinson, Erin Robbins, Morgan Bronk, Bridget Shanahan, Maddy Dunne, Olivia Howard, Taryn Marra, Erin Hammer, Abby Danson, Rebecca Diller and Sheridan Messier; Head Coach Jeanne Frevola; Assistant Coaches Julie Parsons, Shawn Eggleston, and Jen Sykes; and Scorekeeper Jamie Bottino on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Shenendehowa High School Field Hockey Team, Head Coach Jeanne Frevola, Assistant Coaches Julie Parsons, Shawn Eggleston, and Jen Sykes, and Scorekeeper Jamie Bottino.